Teams announced for 2012 National Madison Championships

Teams announced for 2012 National Madison Championships


Ten teams, including 2011 bronze medallists Alex Dowsett and Tom Murray, will battle it out for the 2012 National Madison Championship title, part of the final Revolution of the 2011/12 season. 

2011 winners Peter Kennaugh and Luke Rowe may be absent but last year’s bronze medal pairing of Sky’s Alex Dowsett and Sigmasport’s Tom Murray has reformed for another tilt at the title. Back in 2011, Jon Mould and Tom Moses took silver and both riders return for 2012, though Mould is this time paired with 100% ME teammate Joe Kelly, while Moses will partner Alistair Slater.

With four 100% ME teams in the mix it’s going to make for a tight, intriguing contest. Will Dowsett and Murray be able to raise their game and rise above the 100% ME riders or will the talented pairing of Adam Duggleby and Alistair Rutherford be able to spoil the party?

The National Madison Championships will form the centrepiece of the afternoon session at the specially extended Revolution finale, which will also see the Future Stars and Revolution Championship battles settled. Capping off a top-class day of racing is a star-studded sprint line-up, featuring GB’s Sir Chris Hoy, Jason Kenny and Matt Crampton, who will be joined by French stars Michael Bourgain, Michael d’Almeida and Quentin Lafargue.

Tickets are available for the event for only £6 for adults, £3 for concessions and £15 for a family and can be purchased online or by calling 0842 208 0500. Please note, these tickets do not cover entry to the evening's Revolution Track meeting, which is sold out.

National Madison Championship Teams

Team 1
Adam Duggleby Sportscover Altura RT
Alistair Rutherford

Team 2
Ian Cooper Planet X
Richard Prince Planet X

Team 3
Alex Dowsett Sky Pro Cycling
Tom Murray IG-Sigmasport

Team 4
Joseph Kelly 100% ME
Jonathan Mould 100% ME

Team 5
Mark Christian 100% ME
Simon Yates 100% ME

Team 6
Thomas Moses 100% ME
Alistair Slater 100% ME

Team 7
George Atkins 100% ME
Owain Doull 100% ME

Team 8
Stephen Bradbury AW Cycles
Jack Kirk Agiskoviner Cycling Team

Team 9
Tom Arnstein Equipe Velo Ecosse/Montpeliers
Mark Stewart Spokes Racing Team

Team 10
Douglas Dewey Terra Footwear - Bicycle Line
David Sinclair GWR Team/Swindon Cycles