Latest: Welwyn Track League


Location: Gosling Sports Park, Welwyn
Event: 2 September 2011
Report: Peter Waghorn

A warm evening with no breeze produced some of the fastest racing of the season at the Welwyn Track League's Gosling Sports Park home, especially in the Senior A group which had an excellent turnout with just one more meeting to go to complete the season.

The first three races on the programme needed the photo finish camera to sort out the final places

Lewis Atkins (Orbea) won the opening A group 10-lap scratch but fastest race ever for 10 laps at Welwyn was in the Odds and Evens Block Pursuit with Jason White (Cycle Premier-Metaltek) winning in 5-36 (with some help from team mate Tony Gibb) Lewis Atkins was three seconds down in second place with Welwyn's George Farrell third.

Jason White went on to add the Group A Points race and the 10 mile to complete a very profitable evening

Gareth Richards (Arbis) outsprinted Welwyn's Joe Fry in the opening 10-lap race for Senior B riders, but Fry got his revenge by winning the Hare and Hounds and the Devil having been promoted from the youth series to ride up in preparation for the forthcoming Inter Region Youth games at the end of the month.

In the Senior 10-mile the race started at a slow pace, but speeded up after halfway. Tim Reade made a bid for glory with two laps to go and opened up a useful lead, but was caught 150 metres from the finish as the sprinters went to work in the final lap.

In the three youth groups a few programme changes needed to be made in the two top categories.

Chloe Evans (Welwyn) won the opening five-lap scratch to record her first points of the series in the AB group with James Parrish (Lee Valley) taking the opening BC group five-lap race.

The two groups were combined for a Block handicap. The limit group worked hard and looked well organised and were never caught - Jordan Mooney leading a Welwyn 1,2,3 from Will Street and Sam Dossett.

The 4-lap ABC Handicap was won by Mitchell Powell (Chelmer CC) in a close finish with Welwyn's Will Street and Jordan Mooney second and third.

In the CDE group there were wins for Michael Parry, Will Raymond and Tom Street .

With one meeting remaining the series leaders are:

Seniors: Tony Gibb (Cycle Premier-Metaltek).
Youth AB: Chris Hodges (Welwyn).
Youth BC: Jordan Mooney (Welwyn).
Youth CDE: Will Raymond (Welwyn).

Just 5 points separates Jordan Mooney from James Parrish (Lee Valley) in the youth BC group.


Senior A:
10-lap Scratch:
Lewis Atkins (Orbea) Tony Gibb (Cycle Premier-Metaltek) John McClelland (Agiskoviner).
10-lap Block Pursuit: Jason White (Cycle Premier-Metaltek) Lewis Atkins (Orbea) George Farrell (Welwyn).
10-lap Points: Jason White (Cycle Premier-Metaltek) Lewis Atkins (Orbea) Ian Cook (VC Londres).
10-mile: Jason White (Cycle Premier-Metaltek) Tony Gibb (Cycle Premier-Metaltek) Alex Minting (Planet X).

Senior B:
10-lap Scratch:
Gareth Richards (Arbis) Joe Fry (Welwyn) Ben Smith (Welwyn).
Devil: Joe Fry (Welwyn) Glen O'Brien (CC Luton) Simon Best (North Road).
10-lap Hare & Hounds: Joe Fry (Welwyn) Colin Hodges (Welwyn) Gareth Richards (Arbis).

Youth A:
5-lap Scratch
: Chloe Evans (Welwyn) Luke Morgan (CC Luton) Jonathan Chapman (CC Ashwell).

Youth B:
5-lap Scratch:
James Parrish (Lee Valley) Lucy Harper (Welwyn) Mitchell Powell Chelmer).
4-lap Points: Lucy Harper (Welwyn) Will Street (Welwyn) Mitchell Powell (Chelmer).
6-lap ABC Block Handicap: Jordan Mooney, Will Street Sam Dossett (all Welwyn).
4-lap ABC Handicap: Mitchel Powell (Chelmer) Will Street (Welwyn) Jordan Mooney (Welwyn).

Youth C:
3-lap Scratch
: Michael Parry, Tom Street Tom Durkin (all Welwyn).
3-lap H'cap A: Will Raymond (Welwyn) Tristan Rayner (CC Ashwell) Michael Parry (Welwyn).
3-lap H'cap B: Tom Street (Welwyn) Tom Durkin (Welwyn) Tristan Rayner (CC Ashwell).
4-lap H'cap: Tom Street (Welwyn) Tom Durkin(Welwyn) Tristan Rayner (CC Ashwell).

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.