TT: Cairns and Stewart win in SVTTA event


Location: Cambusbarron, Stirling
Event: 19 May 2013
Report: Snowdon Sports

Steven Cairns and Derek Stewart were the main prize winners in the Law Wheelers 10-mile time trial in Scotland on Sunday, which incorporated the Scottish Veterans TTA J&B Train Trophy.

Cairns (Perth United CC) proved fastest in the open category, clocking 21-28 for the course at Cambusbarron in Stirling. And Stewart (Deeside Thistle) was 6:29 above his age standard in the SVTTA event.

In other categories, Eileen Scott (Fusion Tri Club) was fastest women, while Sandy Wallace Cycles won the team prize with Steve Nutley and Steve Beech.

It was a still day, but drizzle meant that most of the 65 riders got wet and times were generally down on the usual.


Steven Cairns (Perth United CC) 21:28
2 Gary Robson (Gala CC) 21:34
3 Steve Nutley (Sandy Wallace Cycles) 22:02
4 Brendan McCabe (Aberdeen Wheelers) 22:26

Veterans: Gary Robson.

Veterans on standard:
1 Derek Stewart (Deeside Thistle CC) +6:29
2 David Millar (Glasgow Couriers) +6:28
3 Steve Nutley (Sandy Wallace Cycles) +5:18

Team on standard: Sandy Wallace Cycles (Steve Nutley, Steve Beech) +10:14. Women: Eileen Scott (Fusion Tri Club) 26:20. Youth: Gavin Laffoley (Fife Century) 26:42.

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.