TT: Brown takes Massie Shield victory in Scotland

TT: Brown takes Massie Shield victory in Scotland


Location: Ellon, Aberdeenshire
Event: 28 April 2013
Report: Snowdon Sports

Aberdeenshire based Sandy Wallace Cycles rider Robert Brown produced a stunning ride in very windy conditions on the exposed and undulating Ellon to New Deer 25 mile TT course to take overall victory by over a minute from his nearest rival, in the Massie Shield TT, hosted by Ythan CC.

The Massie Shield is a team event however, decided on the combined times of 3 riders from the same squad and Brown's lack of team-mates meant that the trophy would most likely be swept up by either Granite City Race Team, comprising former National Champion Norman Skene who teamed up with Mike Spalding and Brian Duncan or the Aberdeen Wheelers team.

It was the Aberdeen Wheelers who triumphed in the testing conditions with Lee Smith, Brendan McCabe and new to time trialling - Joe Nicolson, taking the coveted trophy back to the silver city. Of particular note was Nicolson's time of 1.00.08 in what was his first ever 25 mile TT, leaving some more experienced testers green with envy after posting significantly slower times.


1 Robert Brown Sandy Wallace 56.14
2 Lee Smith Aberdeen Wheelers 57.28
3 Duncan Warwick Deeside Thistle CC 58.56
4 Brian Duncan Granite City RT 59.29
5 Brendan McCabe Aberdeen Wh 59.29
6 Jim Trevor Hull Thursday 1.00.04
7 Joe Nicolson Aberdeen Wh 1.00.08
8 Mike Spalding GCRT 1.00.13
9 Greg Quinn DTCC 1.00.18
10 Norman Skene GCRT 1.01.09
11Andrew Kilpatrick Right Move 1.01.24
12 Iain Watson Aberdeen Wh 1.01.48
13 Christine McLean Shetland 1.01.59 : 1st Female
14 Andy Duncan Ythan 1.02.29
15 Ian Grant DTCC 1.03.21
16 Jason Weale Aberdeen Wh 1.04.23
17 Robert McGraw DTCC 1.05.22
18 Kevin Milne Aberdeen Wh 1.05.46
19 Colin Sim Aberdeen Wh 1.05.48
20 Malcolm Young DTCC 1.05.56
21 Craig Ward Ythan 1.06.27 1st Junior
22 Bill Bavidge DTCC 1.06.45
23 Stephen Walton DTCC 1.07.22
24 Simon Stromberg DTCC 1.07.44
25 Calum Neill Unattached 1.07.47
26 James West Ythan 1.08.15
27 Colin Allanach Ythan 1.08.27
28 Peter Forsyth Forres CC 1.09.21
29 Jackie Laing DTCC 1.09.28
30 Lewis Goodlad Ythan 1.15.32 1st Youth
31 Kara Griffiths DTCC 1.16.34
32 Carol Middleton Ythan 1.17.19

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.