TT: Wallace wins Aberdeen & Dist CA Champs


Location: Echt Hall, Aberdeen
Event: 30 September 2012
Report: Alister Watt

This year's Championship was dominated by Craig Wallace, riding his last race for Granite City-Ledingham Chalmers RT before moving onto bigger and better teams on the continent.

The 17-year-old has carried his rich vein of form to six wins this year and a string of top placings in all the top UK junior races including 10th in the British Road Race Championships.

He set a blistering pace with a new course record almost one minutes ahead of his nearest competitor and taking almost one minute off the old course record.

For the Woman Christine McLean won with a course record and set a blistering time finishing 14th overall, this ends another successful season for the long-travelled Shetland rider.

The winner of the youth race also set a course record - Andrew Brown Granite City Ledingham Chalmers RT, another promising rider form the north east.

The race attracted an entry of more than 50 riders with 47 finishers, it was nice to see seven youths out racing and shows that there is a small pool of very talented young riders coming through.

I would like to thank all the helpers that made the race and all the other races this year possible.


1 Craig Wallace Granite City RT 38.54

2 Keith Robertson Granite City RT 39.46

3 David Anderson Deeside Thistle CC 39.59

4 Carlos Riise Shetland Wh 40.06

5 Bob Brown Granite City RT 40.45

6 Lee Smith Velo Ecosse 41.42

7 Mike Spalding Deeside Thistle CC 42.03

8 Duncan Warwick Deeside Thistle CC 42.42

9 James Trevor Hull Thursday 42.46

10 Simon Stromberg Deeside Thistle CC 42.57

11 Jonathon Hunter Aberdeen Wh 43.13

12 Greg Quinn Deeside Thistle CC 43.26

13 Brian Duncan Granite City RT 43.27

14 Christine Mclean Shetland Wh 43.3

15 Andrew Brown Granite City RT 43.4

16 Craig Ward Ythan 43.44

17 Zak Loney Ythan 43.51

18 Laurent Schirrer Deeside Thistle CC 44.25

19 Malcolm Young Deeside Thistle CC 44.26

20 Hywel Williams Deeside Thistle CC 44.34

21 Malcolm Grant Ythan 44.44

22 John Blunsdon Deeside Thistle CC 44.52

23 Andrew Harrington Deeside Thistle CC 44.53

24 Stephen Brown Granite City RT 44.58

25 Kevin Stewart Deeside Thistle CC 45.17

26 Joel Robertson Ythan 45.25

27 Michael Giles Ythan 45.37

28 Neil Mosgrove Aberdeen Wh 45.46

29 Anthony French Unatt 45.49

30 Warren Crombie Edinburgh RC 46.12

31 Jordan Stronach Ythan 46.33

32 Calum Cowie Deeside Thistle CC 46.49

33 Dick Stewart Deeside Thistle CC 46.59

34 Steve Walton Deeside Thistle CC 47.07

35 Julie Erskine Aberdeen Wh 47.11

36 Ashley Pearson Deeside Thistle CC 47.12

37 Jackie Laing Deeside Thistle CC 47.17

38 James West Ythan 47.25

39 Conon Able Aberdeen Wh 47.42

40 Ross Hayworth Aberdeen Wh 47.48

41 Sandy Pirie Deeside Thistle CC 48.09

42 Danny Hedley Discovery 48.26

43 Colin Allanach Ythan 49.57

44 Becky Watson Deeside Thistle CC 50.23

45 Michael Robertson Ythan 50.25

46 Joe Fee Deeside Thistle CC 51.46

47 John Hunter Aberdeen Wh 52.3

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.