TT: Addis sets new record in Cairngorm hill climb


Location: Rothiemurchus, Scotland
Event: September 8 2012
Report: Snowdon Sports

Eddie Addis set a new course record for the hill climb on day one of the Cairngorm CC weekend.

The Equipe Velo Ecosse/Montpelliers rider clocked a time of 0:25:45, beating the 00:25:48 that Tony Hays threw down in 2004.

The expected headwinds for the hill climb never appeared and this led to some very quick times. But even without the winds, the course at Rothiemurchus still provides a stiff challenge.


1 Eddie Addis (Equipe Velo Ecosse/Montpelliers) 0:25:45
2 Jamie Kennedy (Glasgow Couriers) 0:25:58
3 Robin Wilkins (Equipe Velo Ecosse/Montpelliers) 0:26:20
4 Ewan Taylor (Perth United) 0:26:20
5 Henry Blake (Ross-shire Roads CC) 0:26:27
6 Richard McDonald (Dooleys Cycles) 0:26:29
7 Gordon Murdoch (Team Cyclelane) 0:27:05
8 Tom Broadbent (Elgin CC) 0:27:21
9 David Wilby (Ross-shire Roads CC) 0:27:27
10 Stuart Stirland (Edinburgh RC) 0:27:33
11 Charles Fletcher (Cairngorm CC) 0:27:48
12 Andrew Ralston (Perth United) 0:28:05
13 Scott Jamieson (Shetland Wheelers) 0:28:05
14 Fraser MacBeath (Moray Firth CC) 0:28:13
15 Lewis Champion (Perth United) 0:28:18
16 Mark McGuire (Perth United) 0:28:30
17 Tom Worthington (Vortex Race Team) 0:28:36
18 Andrew Wilson (Stirling Bike Club) 0:29:07
19 Mark Baugh (Stirling BC) 0:29:09
20 Finlay Strivens (Cairngorm CC) 0:29:14

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.