Road: Giles scores again at Barkston Heath

Road: Giles scores again at Barkston Heath


Location: RAF Barkston Heath, Grantham, Lincolnshire
Event: 1 June 2013
Report: Snowdon Sports

Fields totalling close to 200 riders contested the third round of the Pedalpushers Circuit Race League at RAF Barkston on Saturday.

In-form 39-year-old Phil Giles (Beeston RC) followed up a Mallory Park win last month with victory over Connor Swift (Bike Box Alan/Whiston Velo) in the feature senior race.

There were wins as well for veteran Gavin Sykes (VC Lincoln) and Amelia Cambridge (VC Rutland), while RST Racing Team claimed an under-16 double in the youth races through Joey Walker and Grace Garner.


1 Phil Giles (Beeston RC)
2 Connor Swift (Bike Box Alan/Whiston Velo)
3 Peter Cocker (Forme Bikes UK)
4 Steve Young (WyndyMilla)
5 Edward Pickard (Beeston RC)
6 Oliver Maxwell (Forme Bikes UK)
7 James Shaw (Forme Bikes UK)
8 Gabriel Cullaigh (RST Racing Team)
9 James Cambridge (
10 David Jakeman (Wisbech Wheelers)

1 Gavin Sykes (VC Lincoln)
2 Damian Roberts (Keepthebeat Cycling)
3 Iain McKinlay (Newark Castle CC)
4 Anthony Richardson (RAF CC)
5 Keith Munton (Bourne Wheelers)
6 Andrew Hinklin (BC Private Member)
7 Rob Hoyles (Norwood Paragon CC)
8 Jamie Small (BC Private Member)
9 Tom Goy (Royal Navy & Royal Marines CA)
10 Richard Atkinson (VC Rutland)

1 Amelia Cambridge (VC Rutland)
2 Alice Cobb (Scott Contessa Epic)
3 Annabel Fisher (Peterborough CC)
4 Lauren O’Brien (RST Racing Team)
5 Sarah Kennedy (Matlock CC)
6 Sian Bottomley (Squadra Donne-Shutt VR)
7 Jess O’Brien (RST Racing Team)
8 Annabel Sill (Clay Cross RT)
9 Erica Howe (VC Norwich)
10 Jennifer Smart (VC Norwich)

1 Joey Walker (RST Racing Team)
2 Karl Baillie (Witham Wheelers)
3 Tom Weeds (Derby Mercury RC)

1 Grace Garner (RST Racing Team)
2 Charlotte Broughton (MG Decor)
3 Jennifer McAndrew (Witham Wheelers)

1 James Armstrong (VC Lincoln)
2 Calum Fernie (Nottingham Clarion CC)
3 Matt Ellis (Spalding CC)

1 Maddie Gammons (Bourne Wheelers)
2 Joni Wildman (Nottingham Clarion CC)
3 Isabel Darvill (Newark Castle CC)

1 Jake Norton (Spalding CC)
2 Joshua Scales (Derby Mercury RC)
3 Thomas Wilkinson (Heanor Clarion CC)

1 Poppy Wildman (Nottingham Clarion CC)
2 Amelie Wayte (Matlock CC)
3 Olivia Hunnikin (VC Rutland)

1 Max Poole (Lincsquad)
2 Jack Brough (Heanor Clarion CC)
3 Joshua Giddings (Heanor Clarion CC)

1 Lotta Mansfield (Nottingham Clarion CC)
2 Molly Peel (Spalding CC)
3 Ellie Peel (Spalding CC)

1 Louis Swindell (Matlock CC)
2 Jake Kennedy (VC Lincoln)
3 Jack Lofthouse (Nottingham Clarion CC)

Rosie Mansfield (Nottingham Clarion CC)

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.