Royal London 360 Youth League Round 6

Royal London 360 Youth League Round 6


Location: National Sports Centre, Douglas
Event: 07 May 2013

Warm sunshine greeted the 353 competitors who turned out at the National Sports Centre last Tuesday night for round six of Team Royal London 360 Isle of Man's youth league.

The novices got the action underway, with twins Caitlyn and Chloe Hampson breaking away from the field to grab first and second respectively. Charlotte Nippress pipped Tiana Kelly for third and leading boy Aaron Kinvig came from behind to snatch fifth ahead of William Lomas, Ryan Batty, Leon Murphy, Harrison Skillan and Molly Hinds. Peel's Caleb Quayle led Emma Nippress home for 11th and Zarina Honeyman won the bunch sprint for 13th place.

In the born 2008 & later class Myles Le Geyt scored his fifth success of the series, crossing the line well clear of Ollie Eyres in a solid second place. George Kinnish outgunned Lennon Moore, Fearne Bregazzi and Edward Field for third, while Alec Sorby got past Dylan Larrosa, Nicole Delooze and Callum Christian on the finish straight to secure seventh. Newcomer Oliver Cooper did well to finish 15th on his debut.

Cian Howard broke away at the start of the born 2007 race and was never seriously challenged. Orry Lund got the better of Archie Dunn in the battle for second and top girl Jemma Quayle rode strongly to take fourth ahead of Dexter Russell, who edged out Alex Andrew for fifth. Zack Bellhouse was a lonely seventh and George Kearns headed Sophie Hindson and Ellana Skillan over the line for eighth.

Cian Jackson outsprinted fellow frontrunner Ivan Sorby for the honours in the born 2006 category. Owen Collins overcame Harry Corkish in the race for the final place on the podium and Drystan Sewell held off Corey Peters in the tussle for fifth. Jenson Artus and Logan Glover kept a five-strong chasing bunch at bay to claim seventh and eighth respectively, with Harry Price getting the verdict in the gallop for ninth. Lucy Field was the first girl in 15th spot.

Maintaining his unbeaten record, Niall Colquitt clipped off the front of a breakaway group of four riders to secure the victory in the born 2005 race. Oliver Corkish was second, Oliver Sykes third and Teddy Dunn fourth. Chloe Dillon outpaced Mairi Harrison in the rush for fifth and Oscar Lace held onto seventh after losing ground to the leaders on the final lap. Tyler Annis, Ella Griffin and George Killip rounded off the top ten leader board.

In the born 2004 event Zac Walker attacked breakaway partner Dillon Dowson on the last lap for a clear victory. Ralf Holden, Cameron Dudley and Billy Kennedy trailed in separately to fill third, fourth and fifth places, while James Devereau was too strong for Kiera Prentice and Ben Boyle in the scrap for sixth.

Jonty Bregazzi outsprinted six other riders to notch up his third success in the born 2003 class. Percy Hampton was second closely followed by Matthew Black, Matthew Cooil, Jack Christian, Tyler Hannay and Jamie Gelling. The girls' award went to Darcy Cain in eighth spot.

A last lap attack earned Aaron Lund maximum points in the born 2002 & earlier grouping. James Harrison was too strong for Callum Bratty and Corrin Leeming in the rush for the runners-up spot, with Shellan Leeming taking the girls' prize in a solid fifth place. Ciara Sowerby completed the top six.

Percy Hampton powered to victory in the under 10 racing bikes, outsprinting ten other frontrunners in the final dart for the chequered flag. Zac Walker pipped Jonty Bregazzi for second and Jake Wilson worked hard to take fourth from Matthew Black and Jack Christian. The first category E (under 8) rider home was Niall Colquitt in an impressive tenth place.

Recording his maiden win of the season, Charlie Gibson had the edge on series leader Tosh Teare in the bunch sprint that decided the outcome of the under 12 racing bikes. Max Walker ousted Conor Gelling for third and best girl Emily Bridson did well to take a well-earned fifth. Will Corkill wrapped up the top six.

In another tight finish Matthew Bostock got the better of round four winner Owen Dudley in the final push for the line. Nathan Draper, who made several attacks during the race, was third and Joseph Haddock a good fourth ahead of relative newcomer Joe Harris, who improves with every outing. Matthew Draper was sixth, Conor Davies (the top U/14) seventh and Elizabeth Holden the first girl in a fine eighth position. Eleanor Davies and Kaitlin Slack were the second and third girls home in 11th and 15th positions.