Road: Shannon wins first SERRL Evening Series race

Road: Shannon wins first SERRL Evening Series race


Location: Cyclopark, Gravesend, Kent
Event: 2 May 2013
Report: Snowdon Sports

Dean Shannon ( notched up his first victory of the season when he won the first round of the South East Road Race League’s Evening Series at the Cyclopark near Gravesend in Kent.

The 33-year-old elite rider from Southend took the win ahead of Brighton 40-year-old Darren Barclay (Arctic SRAM), while Shannon’s team-mate Luke Ryan, 23 and from Canterbury, completed the podium in third spot.

Shannon’s best results so far this season include seventh place in Norwood Paragon CC’s Les Ingman Memorial Trophy Road Race on April 21.

Londoner Simas Raguckas took the win in the third/fourth category race ahead of VC Meudon’s James Bevan, while Sally Smith (PMR@Toachim House) was the best female.



1 Dean Shannon Focus Elite

2 Darren Barclay Artic Sram 1

3 Luke Ryan Focus Elite

4 Connell Yates In Gear RT 1

5 Robert Moore London Phoenix CC 1

6 Simon Alexander Southend Wheelers 2

7 Rudie Marais La Fuga 2

8 Rolandas Razgauski La Fuga 2

9 Rhys Clegg PMR@Toachim House 2

10 Adam Norris Focus 1

11 David Shiland Bigfoot 2


1 Simas Raguckas Private 3

2 James Bevan VC Meudon 4

3 Marco Coppola Gemini BC 3

4 Tyler Lemmon Medway Velo J

5 Rob Kennison Medway Velo 3

6 Tom Kennison Medway Velo 3

7 Miles Butler London Phoenix CC 3

8 Jacob Kennison Medway Velo CC 3

9 Jamie Saunders Private 4

10 Martin James Gemini BC 4

11 Jacob Nicholson Medway Velo CC 4

12 Liam Yates Catford Banks Equipe RT 3

13 Kevin Bell Club Cyclopark 4

14 Oliver Jedrej Dulwich Paragon CC 4

15 Rob Thatcher Stonman 3

16 Matthew Leary In Gear RT 4J

17 Ben Sharp Strada Wheels 4

Women: 1 Sally Smith PMR@Toachim House 3W

DNF Paul Butler InGear Quickvit Trainsharp 2

DNF Stuart Lynn Dulwich Paragon CC 4

DNF Kevin Toogood Medway VC 4

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.