Road: Debney wins Reading Spring Road Race


Location: Woodcote, Oxfordshire
Event: 28 April 2013

Mike Debney (London Dynamo) won today’s race near to the Oxfordshire village of Woodcote after six very hard laps over a rolling course. He outsprinted Andrew Feather (Exeter Wheelers) and Simon Henley (Team Corley Cycles) right on the line.

The race route had to be changed at short notice due to road works on the original course but the area easily lends itself to change as it has a centre line through the course. The distance was the same but they added an extra lap to maintain this mileage.

The riders raced for 62miles on a warm dry day however it was very windy on the exposed sections over the farm land section mid lap. The race was promoted by Reading Cycling Club.

The first two laps were short of attacks as the 80 riders looked for room on the road, and it forced the chief commissaire to halt the race and speak to the riders about crossing the white line in the road. Once the instructions were delivered the whole field decided to start racing and the pace increased and gaps started to appear.

After four laps a group of 12 formed a gap on the front and this attack split the race up with a smaller chasing group about 1:30 back with the remnants of the group spread over the course in small groups.

The most active rider in the leading bunch was Rob Yateman (Dream CC) and it was he who won the prime and he also collected the leading U23 rider award.

As the leaders approached the finish line it was clear those three riders had pulled clear and the three sprinted on the uphill towards the line. The remaining chasers were still in touch and finished just a couple of seconds back on the winner.

Provisional Result:

1 Mike Debney London Dynamo 2:28:41
2 Andrew Feather Exeter Wheelers
3 Simon Henley Team Corley Cycles both @ same time
4 Edmund Ashby PM @ 2sec
5 Wayne Coombs Winchcombe CC
6 Phillip Starr Python RT
7 Tom Ilett Bristol South CC
8 James Local London Dynamo
9 Ross Clarke TMG Horizon CT
10 Rob Yateman Dream CC

Fourth Cat: Ross Clarke TMG Horizon CT
Prime: Rob Yateman Dream CC

U23 Result:
1 Rob Yateman Dream CC
2 Stuart Williams Reading CC
3 Jake Coward Rapha Condor CC

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.