Road: Buckley powers through to take Beyond Spring win

Road: Buckley powers through to take Beyond Spring win


Location: Hillingdon, London
Event: 6 April 2013
Report: Snowdon Sports

The excellent weather saw the Beyond Spring Crits 3 extremely well supported as Ken Buckley came through a tough sprint finish to take victory.

The AW Cycles rider was part of a group of eight which got away with ten laps to go after the field had stuck together for the majority of the race.

Two more riders chased the leaders but never threatened the top eight and as the finish line came into view, it was Buckley who powered through.

Leszek Wuziak (Twickenham) was another sprint winner as he was quickest in the category four race which was somewhat marred by a crash which left a rider with a broken collarbone. Tom Beasley (ELV) came second and Ewan Tuohy (Catford CC) finished third.

The number of women entering has grown steadily and this time it was Harriet Owen (Matrix Fitness) who came through a field of over 20 riders to take victory.


1 Ken Buckley AW Cycles

2 James Locker V-Spirit

3 Rudie Marais La Fuga - Sigma Sport

4 Phil Borreh Nuun YB London

5 Matt Tibbutt WightLink LCM

6 Clive Nichols Private

7 Matt Bone I-Team CC

8 Andy Berridge Pearson CC

9 Stuart Bettis Southdowns Bikes Cycling Club

10 Simon Ernest Juice Lubes Pacing

11 Jerzy Kuzminski High Wycombe CC

12 Gareth Dickinson Farnborough CC

13 Jamie Streather VC St Raphael

14 Chris Rees Pearson CC

15 Unidentified

16 Rupert Beale Beline Bikes RT

17 Joe James VeloSport

18 Tim Cummings Forzo Cycles

19 Mike Deenex CC Luton

20 Jack Finch PMR

21 James Norris High Wycombe CC

22 Noah Banner Nuun YB London RT

23 Gavin Spies GS Henley

24 Rob Thatcher Sydenom

25 Livio Nannetti Private

26 James Di Rico High Wycombe Cycling Club

27 Ross Muir Nuun YB London

28 James Freeman Dulwich Paragon

29 Michael Skipsey TMG Horizon

30 Unidentified

31 Paul Butler In Gear

32 Steve Tribe VeloSport

33 Paul Carr Corley Cycles

34 Harvey Lowe Haryrpves Cycles

35 Max Brown Zappis CC

36 Paul Barnald Southdowns

37 Cliff Steele Brixton Cycles

38 Jonathan Maher Dulwich Paragon

39 Matt Butt Team ASL 360

40 Cameron Foster Clubcorley Cycles

41 Scott Webb private

42 Sam Grant WDMBC Beyond Mountainbikes/Specialized

43 Wilf Sinclair Pearson CC

44 Peter Jones Hillingdon CC

45 Unidentified

47 Nick Beale Beline Bikes RT

48 Taimor Tanwir london Dynamo

49 Jo Skelton Look Mum No Hands

50 Andrew McCombe CC Basintoke

51 Steve Barnsey GS Henley

52 John Shurmer GS Avanti

53 Ian Wrightson Charlotte Ville CC

54 Mike Knight VC Meudon

55 Paul Williams WDMBC Beyond Mountainbikes/Specialized

56 Justin Radford Python Racing Team

57 Mario Mantle ASL 360

58 Michael Wilmot Team Quest

59 Henry Catchpole Team Corley

60 Stuart Williams Reading CC

61 Darren Parker Python RT

62 Robin Parker East Grinsteaoll

63 Kevin Knox Vicious Velo

64 Ian Cooter Hillingdon CC

65 Tom Staniford Trek UK

66 Mark allen Team Battle Back

1 Leszek Wuziak Twickenham

2 Tom Beasley ELV

3 Ewan Tuohy Catford CC

4 Basil Adamo London Pheonix

5 Joseph Long Stortford CC

6 Joe McConnell Sorby Hinds

7 Nathan Sweeney London Dynamo

8 Steve Maiton ELV

9 Ashley Russezc London Dynamo

10 Luke Raistrick Sorby Hinds

11 Stephen Vinning ELV

12 Peter Blencowe Imperial College CC

13 Peter Bonnington Baines Racing

14 Steve James High Wycombe Cycling Club

15 Simon Potter Wyndymilla

16 Andrew Lowe Team MK

17 Andy Weedsteck High Wycombe Cycling Club

18 James Hedgeland Dulwich

19 Brian McClellan Rapha Condor CC

20 David Skeggs Team MK

21 Unidentified

22 Jamie Bishop Stortford TRI

23 Gary Amann Sorby Hinds

24 Jeff Roberts High Wycombe Cycling Club

25 Dave Bulmer London Dynamo

26 Zubair Mughal London Dynamo

27 Andy Keene London Pheonix

28 Shane Townstand Westerley

29 David Seymore Twickenham

30 Matthew Leory In Gear

31 Barry Jones Cycles Dauphin Racing Team

32 Jamie Fake Lea Valley CC

33 Steve Wood Pearson Cycling Club

1 Harriet Owen Matrix Fitness

2 Clemene Copie HWCC

3 Lucy Harper Welwyn Wheels

4 Abbie Dentus De Vercycles

5 Katherine Broadbent Durham CC

6 Helen Ralston Les Filles Racing Team

7 Kimberly English Scott Contessatpic

8 Vittoria Bussi Zappi's Ladies Team

9 Charmaine Brown Pearson CC

10 Marianne Britten VC St Raphael

11 Anna-Marie Hughes Prestige Velo

12 Bonnie Wilyenby Zappi's Ladies Team

13 Alice Miller Look Mum No Hands

14 Unidentified

15 Catriona Ross PSUK CRT

16 Nicci Meadows VC St Raphael

17 Babel Hastie Pearson CC


Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.