Road: Ormes takes Braintree win

Road: Ormes takes Braintree win


Location: Sudbury, Suffolk
Event: 31 March 2013
Report: Snowdon Sports/Ben Locke
Photo: Martin Orpen, Interbike RT

A frozen morning in Suffolk resulted in a slight delay to the start of the third edition of the Braintree Velo Road Race, however after the sterling efforts of the race organisation team the ice was broken and the race went ahead.

The cold nullified the first attacks with early endeavour from Cambridge CC and PCH going unrewarded.

The most decisive move came on the final lap with Scott Walford from Iceni Velo making a solo break for the line.

Scott managed to grind out a 30 second gap on the bunch however the tough terrain and an organised chase put pay to his chances with a third of a lap remaining.

The closing kilometre saw the remaining riders in a bunch finish up the closing steep climb to the finishing line.

Trevor Ormes of Velo Schills Interbike proved too strong for the field on the steepest part of the climb and timed his sprint perfectly to hang on for a well deserved win.

The riders battle up the hill to the finish. Photo: Martin Orpen (Interbike RT).



1 Trevor Ormes Velo Schils - Interbike RT
2 Mark Longstaff Colchester Rovers CC
3 Matthew Menlove Maldon & District CC
4 Kendal Noctor Cycling Club Hackney
5 Charles Kennedy-Scott Cycling Club Hackney
6 Daniel Babbs Chelmer CC
7 Theo Doncaster Cycle Club Ashwell (CCA)
8 Matt Cowan Pro Cycle Hire UK Racing Team
9 Douglas Bradshaw Cambridge CC
10 Michael Cowland St Ives CC
11 Osama Assem Finchley Racing Team
12 Nick Perks Iceni Velo
13 Scott Walford Iceni Velo
14 Antony Stapleton Chelmer CC
15 Robert Samuel Crest CC – Ilford
16 Thomas Gillingwater Strada-Sport
17 Dieter Rowe Strada-Sport
18 Mark Howard Pro Cycle Hire UK Racing Team
19 Lee Sturman West Suffolk Wheelers & Triathlon Club
20 James Sanford Velo Schils - Interbike RT
21 Kevin Jeffries Velo Schils - Interbike RT
22 Bjorn Krylander Cambridge CC
23 Nicholas Cramer Hertfordshire Wheelers
24 Philip Hargreaves VC Norwich
25 Benjamin Lewis Finsbury Park CC
26 Dermot Kealey Finchley Racing Team
27 William McFarland East London Vélo
28 Carmelo Luggeri Cycle Club Ashwell (CCA)
29 James Wylie Velo Schils - Interbike RT
30 Graham Galvin East London Vélo
31 Tom Baskaya Finsbury Park CC
32 Daniel Scott Pro Cycle Hire UK Racing Team
33 Willem de Boer Cambridge CC
34 Owen Marsden VC Norwich
35 Johnathan Chapman Cycle Club Ashwell (CCA)
36 Thomas Power Strada-Sport
37 Ellis Dudley Cycle Club Ashwell (CCA)
38 Gareth Baalham-Williams VC Revolution

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.