Road: Clemens secured victory in MK Bowl event


Location: MK Bowl, Buckinghamshire
Event: 30 March 2013
Report and photos: Gordon Wiseman

Ed Clemens (Spirit RT) secured victory in the Phil Corley Cycles Day at the Races, having been part of a leading group which included two of his team-mates at Spirit RT.

The race was dominated by a group of seven that included his team-mates Mark Baines and Chris Dredge. His win came in the feature race of a day of action at Milton Keynes National Bowl that saw nearly 250 competitors – and a group of equally hardy marshals and helpers – brave the bitterly cold conditions.

With the Elite riders refusing the organisers ‘kind’ offer to extend their race if they wanted to put in additional competitive miles, within the opening lap the winning move formed and immediately opened a gap of some 10 seconds that was never threatened.

With that group quickly pulling out of sight it wasn’t long before a chasing group of about half a dozen riders also broke free from the peloton including Roy Chamberlain (Team Corley Cycles), who must have clocked up more miles around the MK Bowl than any other competitor racing on the day.

“We didn’t plan to break up the race so early,” explained 19-year-old Clemens after the race. “But once we’d got the early lead we knew that Spirit had the responsibility to keep pushing the move forward.”

After about 45 minutes racing the leaders started to lap the field and Clemens took that chance to attack on his own.

“Again, it wasn’t something I planned but as we turned right out of the back of the circuit behind the stage I looked over my shoulder and realised I’d opened a gap and from there I just pulled away,” added Clemens.

He kept the lead right to the chequered flag, but after he’d crossed the finishing line another Team Corley rider, Jonny Shuster, made sure that it wasn’t a complete Spirit domination as he won the sprint for second place by the narrowest of margins over Mark Baines, Tim Allen (Clay Cross RT) and the quick finishing Jakes Hales (IG Sigma Sport).


1 Ed Clemens (Spirit RT)
2 Jonny Shuster (Team Corley Cycles)
3 Mark Baines (Spirit RT)
4 Tim Allen (Clay Cross RT)
5 Jakes Hales (IG Sigma Sport)
6 William Goulbourne (Team V-Sprint Racing)
7 Chris Dredge (Spirit RT)
8 Roy Chamberlain (Team Corley Cycles)
9 Mike Wragg (Arbis Colbert Cycles)
10 Stephen Colbert (Arbis Colbert Cycles)

3/4 Cat:
1 Luke Morgan (CC Luton)
2 Jeremy Honor (Twenty3c)
3 Paul Carr (Club Corley Cycles)
4 Mark Botteley (Bourne Wheelers)
5 Anthony Morris (CC Ashwell)

4th Cat:
1 Felix Loftus (Zappi’s)
2 Adrian Cox (Twenty3c)
3 Rob Jones (Club Corley Cycles)
4 Steve James (High Wycombe CC)
5 Chris Bates (Beeston CC)

1 Clare Leaver (Zappi’s Ladies Team)
2 Anna Reid (Zappi’s Ladies Team)
3 Maxine Filby (
4 Grace Garner (RST-Trigon RT)
5 Sian Cahill (Zappi’s Ladies Team)

Under 8s:
1 Ruben Snelson (Team MK)
2 Evie Fereday (Rugby Tri)
3 Eleanor Fereday (Rugby Tri)

Under 10s:
1 Jude Chamberlain (Team MK)
2 Molli Keenor (Team MK)
3 Emily Moon (Team MK)

Under 12s:
1 Alexi Edwards (Welwyn Wheelers)
2 Jake Norton (Spalding CC)
3 Kieran Morris (Mid Shropshire Wheelers)

Under 14s:
1 Rivon Round (Mid Shropshire Wheelers)
2 Matt Ellis (Spalding CC)
3 Adam Bottley (Bourne Wheelers)
Girls: Madeleine Gammons (Bourne Wheelers)

Under 16s:
1 Ollie Bates (Welwyn Wheelers)
2 Tom Yiangou (Neon Velo)
3 Zinzan Heap (Team MK)
Girls: Elizabeth Shirley (Team MK)

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.