TT: Murdoch takes victory in Lungbuster TT


Location: Kirkpatrick Durham, Castle Douglas, Dumfries
Event: 16 March 2013
Report: Snowdon Sports

Veteran Gordon Murdoch secured victory in the South West Scotland Cycling Partnership’s Lungbuster time trial on Saturday, staged over two laps of a circuit around Kirkpatrick Durham near Castle Douglas, Dumfries.

The Icarus Racing rider clocked 52-51 to win by more than two minutes from his nearest rival, fellow veteran Brian Young (Dumfries CC) whose time of 55-03 was good enough to push Chris Stewart (Classic Racing) into third by 1-12.

There was a good result for junior rider Tom Arnstein (Team ASL360) who took fourth spot with 56-19, while Rian Hill (Classic Racing) also put in a strong performance to clock 59-30 and finish as fastest youth boy in the open race.

In the separate race for women and youth boys, Calum Wrathal (Stewartry Wheelers) was fastest with 32-53 for the one lap version of the course.

That gave him victory by 1-09 from fellow Stewartry Wheelers youth boy Lewis Martin, while the fastest of the females was Melanie Martin with 35-27, almost three minutes quicker than the next best woman.




1 Gordon Murdoch Icarus Racing V 52:51

2 Brian Young Dumfries CC V 55:03

3 Chris Stewart Classic Racing Sen 56:15

4 Tom Arnstein Team ASL360 Jun 56:19

5 Cameron Scade Dumfries CC Sen 56:37

6 Sean Noon Team ASL360 Jun 58:41

7 Andrew Taylor Dumfries CC V 59:07

8 Mark Stewart Team ASL360 Jun 59:16

9 Rian Hill Classic Racing Yth Boy 59:30

10 Dave Mitchell Annan 2010 V 59:51

11 Cameron Balfour Team ASL360 Jun 1.01:08

12 George Buchanan Glasgow United 1.01:24

13 Hamish Carrick Team ASL360 Jun 1.01:37

14 Struan McInnes RST Jun 1.01:45

15 Fraser Martin Perth United Jun 1.01:53

16 Calum Foster Team Leslie Bike Shop Jun 1.02:12

17 Gavin Shuttleworth Team ASL360 Jun 1.02:17

18 Zak Loney Ythan CC JUn 1.04:15

19 Lewis Grieve Spokes RT Jun 1.05:11

20 Stuart Graham Dumfries CC V 1.07:02

21 Daniel Walpole Annan Youth CC Jun 1.09:23

22 Stuart Adamson Stewartry Wheelers V 1.10:30

23 Hector Lancaster Perth United Jun 1.17:12 (13 min late start)

24 Aidan Quinn Team ASL360 Jun DNF

25 Ross Green Stewartry Wheelers Sen DNF


1 Calum Wrathal Stewartry Wheelers Yth Boy 32:53

2 Lewis Martin Stewartry Wheelers Yth Boy 34:02

3 Melanie Martin Stewartry Wheelers F 35:27

4 Laurie Adamson Stewartry Wheelers Yth Girl 36:07

5 Megan Heuchan Stewartry Wheelers Yth Girl 36:24

6 Elidh Thompson Stewartry Wheelers Yth Girl 36:53

7 Fiona Thompson Stewartry Wheelers Yth Girl 38:04

8 Toni McCartney Annan Youth Ladies F 38:24

9 Jamie Nicholson Annan Youth Ladies F 38:40

10 Cameron Oliver Stewartry Wheelers Yth Boy 39:05

11 Sandra Proudfoot Annan Youth Ladies F 40:04

12 William McCartney Annan Youth CC Yth Boy 40:07

13 Jennifer Oliver Stewartry Wheelers F 41:27

14 Carol Graham Unattached F 41:28

15 Kayleigh Peoudfoot Annan Youth CC Yth Boy 42:35

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.