Road: Coyle Edges Home In Surrey League TT


Location: Staplefield, West Sussex
Event: 18 August 2012
Report: Snowdon Sports

One second was all that separated the top two in the second of ViCiOUS Velo’s Surrey League time trials on the Staplefield circuit with victory going to Michael Coyle (Brighton Mitre CC).

The 50-year-old veteran clocked 1-02-41 to win by the minimum margin from Robert Moore (London Phoenix), who had finished third the previous week when he was four seconds quicker.

The accompanying two-up saw Chris McNamara (Pedal Heaven RT) repeat his win of seven days earlier but with a different partner, teaming up with Nic Hutchings (CS Grupetto) to record 58-37 for the only sub-hour ride of a hot afternoon.


1 Michael Coyle (Brighton Mitre CC) 1-02-41
2 Robert Moore (London Phoenix) 1-02-42
3 David Dalton (Fareham Wheelers) 1-05-13
4 Nick Gasson (34 Nomads) 1-05-26
5 Philip Murrell (Finsbury Park CC) 1-05-59
6 Stuart Nisbett (Crawley Wheelers) 1-06-08
7 Darryl Rice (Southdown Velo) 1-06-33
8 Dean Corney (VC Meudon) 1-08-24
9 Stephen Ralston (London Dynamo) 1-11-29
10 Fay Cripps (Southdowns Bikes) 1-12-28

1 Chris McNamara (Pedal Heaven RT) & Nicolas Hutchings (CS Grupetto) 58-37
2 Gordon Kenneway & Richard Mason (London Dynamo) 1-04-52
3 Kevin Knox & Andy Waterman (ViCiOUS Velo) 1-05-06
4 Christian Rudolf (De Laune CC) & Patrick Hawkins (Dulwich Paragon CC) 1-05-47
5 David Webborn & Andrew O’Connor (London Dynamo) 1-06-29
6 Rachel Przybylski (WyndyMilla/UK Youth) & Jonathan Lewis (Charlotteville CC) 1-06-34

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.