Road: Three in a row for Grey at Rhyl


Location: Marsh Tracks, Rhyl, North Wales
Event: 08 August 2012
Report: Snowdon Sports

The width of a tyre was all that separated Chester-based first category Harry Grey ( and 16-year-old junior Gerallt Allen (Rhyl CC) at the end of the main race at Rhyl’s Marsh Tracks.

The pair linked up before the halfway mark and, with some tactical assistance from Allen’s clubmates in the pack, established a lead of over a minute by the finish.

Grey tried to shake off his rival three laps out, but the Rhuddan youngster was equal to the effort and then tried to turn the tables on with 600 metres to go, gaining four or five lengths as they entered the finishing straight only for Grey to claw his way back and secure his third successive win at the 1.25-km North Wales circuit by the narrowest of margins.

Chris Williams (VC Melyd) scored his second sprint win in as many weeks in the 30-minute Go-Race, and in the youth races David Tudor (Rhyl CC) provided the highlight of the categories in the Under-1's with a sprint win ahead of Jack Nash (Rhos-On-Sea CC) and Simon Price (Fibrax Wrexham RC), the three separated by just a bike length.


1 Harry Grey ( 53:48
2 Gerallt Allen (Rhyl CC) @ same time
3 Sion Jones (Rhos On Sea CC) at 1:05
4 Aled Pugh-Jones (Fibrax Wrexham RC)
5 Peter Windsor (Clwb Beicio Dwyfor CC)
6 Jon Clarke (Rhos On Sea CC)
7 Alan Forrester (Rhyl CC)
8 Barry Davies (Clwb Beicio Dwyfor CC)
9 George Evans (Mis Shropshire Wheelers)
10 Steffan Jones (Clwb Beicio Dwyfor CC) all @ same time
1 Chris Williams (VC Melyd) 30:00
2 John Noakes (Rhos On Sea CC) @ 1 sec
3 Paul Griffin (Rhyl CC)
4 Mike Evans (BC Private Member)
5 Barry Davies (Clwb Beicio Dwyfor CC)
6 Gary Evans (Rhos On Sea CC) all @ same time
Youth A:
1 James Faulkner (Deeside Olympic CC)
2 Cai Parry-Jones (BC Private Member)
3 Ben Hingeley (BC Private Member)
Jessica Faulkner (BC Private Member)
Youth B:
1 David Tudor (Rhyl CC)
2 Jack Nash (Coed Llandegla North Wales MTB Association)
3 Simon Price (Fibrax Wrexham RC)
Elain Davies (Clwb Beicio Dwyfor CC)
Youth C:
1 Twm Bryn (Clwb Beicio Dwyfor CC)
2 Sven Grube (Rhyl CC)
3 Ben Lewis (BC Private Member)
Youth D:
1 Luca Bennett (BC Private Member)
2 Harri Evans (Mid Shropshire Wheelers)
3 Tomos Owen (Clwb Beicio Dwyfor CC)
Youth E:
1 Huw Buck Jones (Dreigian Coed Y Brenin Dragons)
2 Morgan Owen (Clwb Beicio Dwyfor CC)
3 Josh Peevor (Rhyl CC)

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.