Road: Jackson comes good at the double


North Yorkshire Evening Road Race League 6
Location: Malton, North Yorkshire
Event: 26 July 2012
Report: Snowdon Sports

Victory in the final 35-mile round saw Lewis Jackson (Cottingham Coureurs) take the inaugural North Yorkshire Evening Road Race League title.

Jackson crossed the line the width of a tyre in front of Stephen Henson (Rock Racing) after seven laps of a five-mile circuit, starting at Ashfield Country Manor and going through Great Barugh and Little Habton, to move clear of Christopher Fothergill (Rock Racing) in the final standings at the end of a popular and highly successful first season.

With the field lapping consistently in around 15 minutes and the Rock Racing squad driving hard at the front, no breaks were allowed to develop and it came down to a sprint on the finishing climb where Jackson proved just too strong for Henson with third place going to Daniel Shoreman (Crosstrax) who also finished third overall.

1 Lewis Jackson (Cottingham Coureurs)
2 Stephen Henson (Rock Racing)
3 Daniel Shoreman (Crosstrax)
4 Neil Hendry (Dirtwheels Cycles)
5 David Henson (Rock Racing)
6 Paul McDonald (Slipstream RT)
7 Stephen Coates (We Love Mountains)
8 Thomas Randall (Rock Racing)
9 John Askew (Active Copiers)
10 Gregory Hicks (Big Bear Bikes)

1 Jackson 44 points
2 Christopher Fothergill (Rock Racing) 37
3 Shoreman 29
Rock Racing.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.