Road: Cade wins latest SERRL event


Location: Edenbridge, Kent
Event: 24 June 2012
Report: Snowdon Sports

Francis Cade (VO2 Development Team) had come second six times in races that he entered this year and in this - his last race as a category 2 rider - he finally went that step further to be first over the line.

The 19-year-old from Surbiton led from William Pratt of Dulwich Paragon and PM Racing’s Harry Godding was in third.

Francis said: “It was a really fast race, much faster than the average road race. Everyone was really going for it, Chris Morrison from Dynamo was absolutely nailing it.

“The field eventually split in two and I managed to stay with the leading bunch with a team mate. There were lots of attacks going in and I thought a stronger guy would win it.

“But towards the end, I just went for it, got my head down and sprinted. I managed to hold it. I’ve come second six times this year and so this was my first win of the year so I’m really pleased.

“Next weekend I’m riding in the London Dynamo Road Race and it’ll be a big step up to first category, racing with the big boys!”


1st Francis Cade V02 Development 2

2nd William Pratt Dulwich Paragon 2

3rd Harry Godding PM Racing 2J

4th Harry Franklin Hargroves Cycles 2

5th Scott Webb PM Racing 3

6th Matthew Miles In Gear RT 2nd vet

7th Declan Higgins VC St Raphael 2

8th Matthew Conner Supernova Cycles 2

9th Martin O'Grady Team Toachim 2

10th Lawrence Carpenter V02 Development 2

11th Josh Lawless Aprire Bicycles 2

12th Simon Collins Dulwich Paragon 3

13th David Murrell London Phoenix CC 2

14th Jonathan Harris Private 4

15th Ashley Dennis Prestige VC 2

16th Chris Morrison London Dynamo cc 3

17th Chris Dick London Phoenix CC 2

18th Andrew Colvin Bigfoot CC 3

19th Keith Lea Addiscombe CC 3V

20th James Local London Dynamo 3

21st Chris Zappala

22nd jason nind wigmore cc 2

23rd Alan Strang Dulwich Paragon 2

24th Dean Corney VC Meudon 3

25th Ciaran O'Grady Team Toachim 3 - U23

26th Matthew Butt Team ASL360 2

27th Mark McCullagh Dulwich Paragon 2V

28th Phil Dempsey Aprire RT

29th Sean ORegan Team Toachim 3v

30th Jonathan Mayher Dulwich Paragon 3

31st Richard Bayfield London Phoenix CC 3

32nd Phillip Jemmison Redhill CC 3

33rd Brian Hennessey Redhill CC 3V

34th Peter Mahoney Sydenham Wheelers 3v

35th Graham Hills In-Gear Quickvit RT 2

36th John Donavan GS Grupetto 3

37th Christian Rudolf De Laune 2

38th Guy Lane Southborough & District Wheelers 4

39th James Wallace London Pheonix 2

40th Craig Wilson VC Meudon 3rd

41st Robin Parker East Grinstead CC 2

42nd Scott Gilchrist Condor Cycles 3

43rd Chris King Catford CC 3

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.