Road: Ashurst wins CDNW Round 9


Location: Lazonby, near Penrith, Cumbria
Event: 24 June 2012
Report: Snowdon Sports

Second category rider Michael Ashurst (Maxgear CRC) held off elite rivals to take victory in the ninth event of the CDNW League in Cumbria on Sunday.

The 23-year-old from Wigan sprinted to victory ahead of Vanilla rival Alistair Rutherford, the 30-year-old elite category rider from Manchester.

The pair were just over a minute clear of the next rider, Harry Grey (Vanilla, while the remain of the bunch came home in pieces after a tough 120-kilometre event based around the village of Lazonby, near Penrith.

Meanwhile, in the supporting event for 3/4 category riders 17-year-old Oldham-based rider Joshua Ferguson (Team Wheelguru) took the win in a big bunch sprint finish to the 90-kilometre race.

He held off 33-year-old Newcastle-based rider Nick Spencer (Gosforth RC) into second spot, while Lancashire Road Club’s Tom Walsh took third.


1 Michael Ashurst (Maxgear CRC) 2:59:06
2 Alistair Rutherford (Vanilla @ same time
3 Harry Grey (Vanilla @ 1:02
4 Tom Black (Cycle Premier) @ 1:36
5 Simon Baxter (Herbalife-Leisure Lakes) @ 1:42
6 Jacob Tipper (Team Wallis CHH)
7 Jonathan Cregeen (Biketreks RT)
8 Lee Baldwin (Buxton CC)
9 Dillon Byrne (Vanilla
10 Stuart Percival (GB Fire Service) all @ same time

3/4 Cat:
1 Joshua Ferguson (Team Wheel Guru) 2:18:23
2 Nick Spencer (Gosforth RC)
3 Tom Walsh (Lancashire RC)
4 Steven Clarke (Wheelbase)
5 Lee Carter (Ribble Valley CRC)
6 Sandy Lockett (Biketreks RT)
7 Paul Kirby (Cestria Cycles RT)
8 Christopher Taylor (Border City Wheelers)
9 Ben Lane (GS Metro)
10 Jake Cowen (Biketreks RT)

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.