Line-up announced for Brighouse Crits

Line-up announced for Brighouse Crits


Event: 26 June 2012
Location: Brighouse town centre, West Yorkshire

The organisers of the VS Cycles Brighouse Circuit Races have announced the line-up for the first round of the 2012 Elite Circuit Race Series on 26th June.

Spectators can look forward to an evening of entertainment and high drama with a top class field from the UK’s major teams.

Endura Racing has been the team to beat so far this year and they will arrive in Brighouse on the back of a sensational victory in the Halfords Tour Series. Representing Endura in Brighouse will be a strong Endura team that includes current Premier Calendar leader Scott Thwaites, Russell Downing who was 2nd in here in 2009 and Ian Wilkinson, winner of the final round of the Elite Circuit Series 2011 and runner up in the National Circuit Race Championships in 2011.

There will be plenty of riders attempting to stop Endura having it all their own way, with full squads from IG Sigma Sport, Team Raleigh-GAC, Node-4 Giordana, Cycle Premier-Kovert, Corley Cycles/Blue, Sportscover Altura RT, Team Hope Factory Racing and hoping to make their mark in the first race of the series.

Looking to put a stop to Endura’s dominance will be Team Raleigh-GAC rider Graham Briggs, the current National Circuit Race Champion who has shown recent good form in the Halfords Tour Series. Yorkshire’s own Tom Murray of IG Sigma Sport will be looking to better his third place finish in the 2011 series and Node4-Giordana’s criterium specialist Matt Cronshaw will also be one to watch on the night.

The Race

The Elite Circuit Race Series race will start at 20:20 and is scheduled to last for 60 minutes.

The Men’s Elite Circuit Race is the climax of an evening of racing in Brighouse, which earlier on will kick off with the Youth A & B race for Under 14 & Under 16 boys and girls at 19:00 for 30 minutes, followed at 19:35 by the senior race for 3/4/W/J category riders, which is scheduled to last for 45 minutes.

At the end of the Elite race at approximately 21.30 the prize presentation ceremony for all races will take place at the podium near the finish line. Spectators are encouraged to stay around and give the riders their appreciation as the winners pop the champagne!

The Circuit

The circuit starts along King Street, turns right down Lawson Road, then cuts the wrong side of the island at the bottom of Huddersfield Road and enters Bethel Street. Continuing on Bethel Street towards Thornton Square roundabout before proceeding up Briggate before turning right back into Commercial Street and along to the junction with Bradford Road/King Street to complete one circuit outside the offices of the event’s main sponsors, Websters Insurance Brokers.

Spectator Parking

Spectators can park in Daisy Street, Mill Royd East / West, Owler Ings, Bank Street, Church Street or Mill Street car parks. All are free after 18.00 and charges before this range from £0.30-£0.50 per hour or part thereof.

For map of town centre car parks visit:

For all the latest news from the Elite Circuit Race Series visit

Official event website:

Start List

1 Ben Kellett VS Cycles Brighouse
2 Ashley Marshall Aire Valley Cycles RT
3 Jacob Ragan Champion Systems, Max Gear, Kyklos
4 Jordan Hargreaves Crosstrax
5 Michael Berling Cycle Premier - Kovert
6 Will Bjergfelt Cycle Premier - Kovert
7 Jamie Caldwell Cycle Premier - Kovert
8 Richard Hepworth Cycle Premier - Kovert
9 George Moore Cycle Premier - Kovert
10 George Tansley Cycle Premier - Kovert
11 Martin Woffindin Cycle Sport Pendle
12 Matthew Bulmer Dirtwheels Cycles
13 Mark Perry Dirtwheels Cycles
14 Robert Watson Dirtwheels Cycles
15 Ian Bibby Endura Racing
16 Russell Downing Endura Racing
17 Jonathan McEvoy Endura Racing
18 Scott Thwaites Endura Racing
19 Ian Wilkinson Endura Racing
20 William Staveley Ferryhill Wheelers Mountain High
21 Edward McParland GT Racing UK
22 Michael Armstrong Mountivation Junior Acadamy
23 David Clarke Node4 Giodana Racing
24 Matt Cronshaw Node4 Giodana Racing
25 Kieran Frend Node4 Giodana Racing
26 Matt Higgins Node4 Giodana Racing
27 Mike Northey Node4 Giodana Racing
28 Rico Rogers Node4 Giodana Racing
29 Pete Williams Node4 Giodana Racing
30 Tom Stewart RST Racing Team
31 Dan Storey RST Racing Team
32 Matt Sumpton RST Racing Team
33 Ashley Brown Sportscover Altura RT
34 Adam Duggleby Sportscover Altura RT
35 Jake Womersley Sportscover Altura RT
36 Oliver Wood Sportscover Altura RT
37 Chris Sherriffs Team Bglobal
38 Matthew Jones Team Corley Cycles/Blue
39 James Millard Team Corley Cycles/Blue
40 Jamie Newall Team Corley Cycles/Blue
41 Michael Smith Team Corley Cycles/Blue
42 Liam Stones Team Corley Cycles/Blue
43 Paul Bennett Team Hope Factory Racing
44 Sam Boast Team Hope Factory Racing
45 Michael Knight Team Hope Factory Racing
46 James Thompson Team Hope Factory Racing
47 Sam Ward Team Hope Factory Racing
48 Matt Williams Team Hope Factory Racing
49 Simon Gaywood Team IG Sigma Sport
50 Jake Hales Team IG Sigma Sport
51 Steve Lampier Team IG Sigma Sport
52 Thomas Last Team IG Sigma Sport
53 Tom Murray Team IG Sigma Sport
54 Graham Briggs Team Raleigh - GAC
55 Daniel Holloway Team Raleigh - GAC
56 Liam Holohan Team Raleigh - GAC
57 Simon Holt Team Raleigh - GAC
58 Tobyn Horton Team Raleigh - GAC
59 Jeroen Janssen Team Raleigh - GAC
60 Evan Oliphant Team Raleigh - GAC
61 Bernard Sulzberger Team Raleigh - GAC
62 Nick Rylance Wakefield CC - Exponential
63 Lewis Craven
64 Tony Greenhaulgh
65 William Penn
66 Jack Pullar
67 Stuart Reid
68 Grahame Sumner
71 Dean Downing Rapha Condor Sharp
72 Ben Grenda Rapha Condor Sharp
73 Luke Mellor Grivell Rapha Condor Sharp
74 Kristian House Rapha Condor Sharp
75 Richard Lang Rapha Condor Sharp
76 James McCallum Rapha Condor Sharp