Road: Lack solos to SERRL victory


Location: Bethersden, Kent
Event: 10 June 2012
Report: Snowdon Sports

Riding the last 40 kilometres on his own, veteran Andy Lack (Kingston Wheelers) held off a charging bunch to land the first win of his career in round 14 of the South East Road Race League on a revised version of the Biddenden circuit in Kent.

The 43-year-old held a maximum lead of around a minute but saw his advantage trimmed to just two seconds as he crossed the line ahead of Mike Piper (Kent Cycles RC) and under-23 Ciaran O’Grady (Team Toachim).

All attempts to break away in the seven-lap race were chased down until Lack went clear in what proved to be the winning move.

“I hoped and expected one or two to come across to me, but no-one did,” said Lack, from Mortlake. “I realised it was all or nothing, the flat and rolling circuit suited me, so I got my head down.

“With about 10 km to go I could see two guys chasing me at around 15 seconds and the bunch behind them. I began to think it was a possibility and just carried on.

“The bunch was chasing me down with 200 metres to go but I got there just in time.

“It was very sweet – I got second on the same circuit in April when i was in a two-man break, and that’s my first ever win.”


1 Andy Lack Kingston Wheelers 3V

2 Mike Piper Kent Cycles RC 3

3 Ciaran O'Grady Team Toachim 3 - U23

4 Steven Warnett Team Larkfield Cycles 3v

5 Nick Dibble 4t+velo club

6 Sean O'Regan Team Toachim 3v

7 Kevin Newland 4T+ Velo Club 4

8 KevinJjeffries Velo Schils Interbike 4

9 Matthew Hull San Fairy Ann CC 4

10 Roger Todd Club Cyclopark 3

11 Sam Bradford VC Elan 3-U23

12 Mark Jary VC Londres 3

13 Joe Godding PM Racing 3

14 Daren Squirrell GS Avanti 3

15 Phil Hoffman San Fairy Ann CC 4

16 Ian Jones Team Larkfield Cycles 3V

17 James Local London Dynamo 3

18 Stephen Sorba Dulwich Paragon 3v

19 Liam Walsh VC Deal 3

20 Charles Batho Dulwich Paragon CC 3v

21 Scott Webb PM Racing 3

22 Galeb Aqel Addiscombe CC 3

23 Shaun Williams San Fairy Ann CC 4

24 Phillip Jemmison Redhill CC 3

25 Stuart Adair Redhill CC

26 Brian Hennessey Redhill CC 4V

27 Richard Jones San Fairy Ann CC 4

28 Nicholas Wood Thornton Road Club 4

29 Ian Neild SFA Racing Team 4

30 Tristin Hinz Dulwich Paragon CC 3

31 Bill Fitzgerald GS Avanti 3V

32 Ben Scruton SFA Racing Team 3

33 Derek Wiles Unattached 3

34 simon charlesworth San Fair Ann CC 3

35 Stuart Featherstone Larkfield Cycles 3

36 Ryan West In-Gear Quickvit 3

37 Damien Breen Kingston Wheelers CC 3

38 David Kennett Norwood Paragon

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.