Road: James Newey wins in Shrewsbury


Location: Victoria Park, Southport
Event: 9 June 2012
Report: Snowdon Sports

The dark clouds overhead thankfully failed to dampen the Shrewsbury Sports Village 1km Road Circuit and promoting club Mid Shropshire Wheelers saw some great performances from Shropshire riders on a dry circuit.

In the Elite Men's event Para T rider Tim Challinor was rewarded for his attentive riding at the front of the bunch by getting into a couple of good moves and finally into the winning four-man break.

Unable to get out of the saddle and effectively sprinting with one arm due to his disability, Challinor couldn't come close to winner James Newey of Cadence Sport but has to be pleased with fourth.

Shropshire riders were represented in every single race category with wins for Andy Tamplin in the 4th Cat race, Elliot Jones in the 3rd Cats and James Elmore came oh so close in the Youth A with the winner Solihull's Ethan Lee learning a valuable lesson as arms aloft he could only watch as Elmore threw his bike at the line after a late charge only missing the win by a tyre’s width.

Performances of particular note were from Leicestershire’s Charlotte Broughton who opted to ride with the Youth B boys instead of the Youth A&B girls and proved to be a convincing winner, aggressive throughout yet still had enough in reserve to take the bunch kick.


E/1/2/3/4 Men:
1 James Newey (Cadence Sport)
2 Adam Lewis (Wolverhampton Wheelers)
3 Ian Cooper (Planet X)
4 Tim Challinor (Para-T Cycling Team)
5 Richard Cartland (West Midlands)
6 William Penn (West Midlands)
7 James Notley (Planet X)
8 Aaron Caseley (Cycle Shack/Forme Coaching RT)
9 Ross Clayton (NFTO)
10 Mick Davies (Team Pedal Power)
E/1/2/3/4 Women:
1 Eleanor Jones (VC St Raphael)
2 Nikola Butler (Vivelo-Bikes/Inverse Cyclaim RT)
3 Manon Lloyd (Towy Riders)
4 Katie Evans (Team Type 1)
5 Tracy Dresch (Squadra Donne - Shutt VR/Bikefood)
6 Heather Bamforth (VC St Raphael)
Cat 3 Men:
1 Elliot Jones (Paramount CRT)
2 Jack Mills (Halesowen A&CC)
3 Daniel Lamsdell (Wrekinsport CC)
4 Marcus Willday (Mid Shropshire Wheelers)
5 Lee Sullivan (Mid Shropshire Wheelers)
6 Theo Merchant (Wolverhampton Wheelers)
Cat 4 Men:
1 Andrew Tamplin (Wrekinsport CC)
2 Ethan Lee (Solihull CC)
3 Christopher Kay (Fibrax Wrexham Road Club)
4 Adam Howells (Fred Williams Cycles
5 Phil Hinch (Brotherton Cycles)
6 Matthew Cartlidge (Stone Wheelers CC)
Under 16 Youth:
1 Ethan Lee (Solihull CC)
2 James Ellmore (Mid Shropshire Wheelers)
3 Luke Selibas (Lichfield City CC)
Under 14 Youth:
1 Charlotte Broughton (Leicestershire Road Club)
2 Joshua Waters (Mercia HBM CC)
3 Matthew Walls (Velocity RT)
Under 14 and Under 16 Girls Youth:
1 Sallie Birchall (Lyme RC)
2 Georgia Hilleard (Wolverhampton Wheelers)
3 Sarah Lomas (Matlock CC)
Under 12 Youth:
1 Matty Lewis (Wolverhampton Wheelers)
2 William Manfield (Wolverhampton Wheelers)
3 Kieran Morris (Mid Shropshire Wheelers)
Under 10 Youth:
1 Elliot Waters (Mercia HBM CC)
2 Daniel Barnes (Lichfield City CC)
3 Leo Bungay (Mid Shropshire Wheelers)
Under 8 Youth:
1 Josh Tarling (West Wales CRT)
2 Heledd Hunt (Towy Riders)
3 James Bullar (unattached)

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.