Road: Riddle Has Solution To Forres Weekend


Forres CC June Weekend
Location: Forres, Morayshire
Event: 2-3 June 2012
Report: Snowdon Sports

Consistency was the key for Kenny Riddle (Moray Firth CC) as he took the overall honours at Forres CC’s June Weekend with the three events producing three different winners.

One second separated winner Peter Ettles (Sandy Wallace Cycles), 21-57, from second-placed Rab Carson (Leslie Bike Shop) in the opening 10-mile time trial with Riddle in fourth place before Carson claimed victory in the following morning’s Allan Bell Memorial ‘25’, clocking 55-21 in a rising easterly wind to win by 2-05 from Riddle.

The overall outcome was decided by the following 29-mile Dyke APR road race which, with the field covered by nine minutes at the start, saw Penny Phllips (Moray Firth CC) and Julie Erskine (Aberdeen Wheelers) survive from the five-strong longmarkers group and, out on their own for the last lap and a half, hold off the scratch riders to take the first two places as Riddle’s place in the pack sprinting for third place proved enough to give him the weekend’s honours on aggregate times.


10-mile time trial
1 Peter Ettles (Sandy Wallace Cycles) 21-57
2 Rab Carson (Leslie Bike Shop) 21-58
3 Wim Chalmet (East Sutherland Wheelers) 22-25
4 Kenny Riddle (Moray Firth CC) 22-38
5 Tony Broadbent (Huddersfield Star Wheelers) 22-41
6 Alan McCaffrey (Ross-shire RCC) 23-15.
Handicap: Riddle 19-37.
Veterans on age standard: Dave Harter (Forres CC) +3-14
Women: Penny Phillips (Moray Firth CC) 24-41
Youth: Stephen Brown (Granite city RT) 25-36

25-mile time trial
1 Rab Carson 55-21
2 Kenny Riddle 57-26
3 Robert Brown (Granite City RT) 58-11
4 Wim Chalmet 58-47
5 Callum Finlayson (Forres CC) 59-26
6 Kevin Lackie (Moray Cycle RT) 59-50
7 Gareth Luce (Moray Cycle RT) 1-00-24
8 Brian Widdison (Moray Firth CC) 1-00-46
9 Paul Black (Elgin CC) 1-00-48
10 Dave Harter 1-02-09
Handicap: Andrew Brown (Granite City RT) 48-13
Veterans on age standard: Roger Sewell (Ross-shire RCC) +8-31
Women: Laura Nicolson (Moray Firth CC) 1-05-06
Youth: Stephen Brown 1-06-53

Allan Bell Memorial Trophy (best North of Scotland CA rider on handicap): Brian Widdison 45-21

Dyke APR Road Race
1 Penny Phillips 1-16-04
2 Julie Erskine (Aberdeen Wheelers) at 57 sec
3 Mark Munro (Cairngorm CC) at 2-07
4 Kieran Jarratt (RAF CC)
5 Garry Russell (RAF CC)
6 John Brown (VC Glasgow South)
7 Mark Murray (Moray Firth CC)
8 George Findlater (Moray Cycle RT)
9 Kevan Sturgeon (Moray Cycle RT)
10 Robert Brown

1 Kenny Riddle 2-29-15
2 Wim Chalmet at 1-08
3 Callum Finlayson at 1-53

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.