Road: Will Haynes wins Sloan Trophy Race


Durham University student Will Haynes (Blackhawk came out on top in a three-up sprint to win Gosforth RC’s 67-mile Sloan Trophy Road race in atrocious conditions on the Stamfordham circuit, Northumberland.

Haynes denied second-placed Mark Perry (Dirtwheels Cycles) a hat-trick following wins in the Frank Morgan Memorial and Phillip Russell Memorial road races in the two previous weeks, with James Alder (VC Briganti) in third place.

The three came from a break of five riders who came together halfway through the third of five laps and worked well together to establish a clear gap.

The five became three on the final lap when the leaders began attacking each other on the climb on the back half of the circuit, with chemistry student Haynes making his move inside the last kilometre.

“I attacked when the others were looking the other way, got a bit of a gap and held it to the line,” said the 21-year-old winner who was recording his first road win of the season.

“My form is improving all the time - I’m hoping to get up to first category this year, push myself to be a bit more competitive, and just see what happens.”


1 Will Haynes (BlackHawk
2 Mark Perry (Dirtwheels Cycles)
3 James Alder (VC Briganti)
4 Richard Moore (Squadra RT)
5 Craig Anderson (BlackHawk
6 Neil Taylor (Edinburgh RC)
7 Sam Boast (Hope Technology)
8 Karl Denton (
9 Richard Kipling (MTS Cycles)
10 Michael Sloanes (Sunderland Clarion)

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.