Road: Cowley nets another Barkston victory


Location: RAF Barkston Heath, Lincolnshire
Event: 21 April 2012
Report: Snowdon Sports

Winner of last month’s opener, Blake Cowley (Clay Cross RT) repeated the dose in a weather-hit main event at the second round of the Barkston Circuit Race League at RAF Barkston Heath, in Lincolnshire.

A heavy hailstorm after half an hour of racing prompted the early appearance of the ‘5-to-go’ board as parts of the circuit became unsafe, with 22-year-old Cowley, from Newark, going on to take the verdict ahead of junior Jake Scott (Planet X).

The weather also brought an early end to the under-8, 10 and 12 youth races which began in the dry, but then encountered rain and finally hail with a halt called after ten minutes of increasingly difficult racing.

The other races all went off as scheduled with Andrew Bloxholme (Lincoln Wheelers), 41, winning the fourth-category event and Charlotte Colclough (For Viored) heading the women’s field.


1 Blake Cowley (Clay Cross RT)
2 Jake Scott (Planet X)
3 Ben Ives (We Love Mountains RT)
4 Peter Cocker (Witham Wheelers)
5 Chris Walker (RST RT)
6 James Shaw (Cycle Shack)
7 James Cambridge (
8 Tom Flanstein (Spokes RT)
9 Gareth Whittall (Clay Cross RT)
10 Kristian Woolf (Kings Cliffe Flyers)

4th Cat:
1 Andrew Broxholme (Lincoln Wheelers)
2 Jonathon Wells (VC Lincoln)
3 Richard Edwards (Spalding CC)
4 Jordan Gell (VC Lincoln)
5 Jody Bett (VC Lincoln)
6 Gareth Sykes (VC Lincoln)
7 Kevin Fearnshaw (TFN Triathlon Club)
8 Ian Russell (Newark Castle CC)
9 Craig Wood (Spalding CC)
10 Nigel Middlehurst (BC PM)

1 Charlotte Colclough (For Viored)
2 Diane Lee ( RT)
3 Linda Hubbard (Welland Valley CC)
4 Debbie Barnett (Boston Wheelers)
5 Lucy Smith (BC PM)
6 Sam Thoy

Youth A:
1 Gabriel Cullaigh (RST RT)
2 Joey Walker
3 Jack King

1 Hannah Blount (Derby Mercury RC)
2 Grace Garner
3 Sian Botteley

Youth B:
1 Joshua Waters (Mercia HBM CC)
2 Reece Wood
3 Ollie Peckover

1 Maddie Gammons (Bourne Wheelers)
2 Rosie Wildman
3 Joni Wildman

Youth C:
1 Jack Ford (Wakefield Junior Triathlon Club)
2 Tom Dussek
3 Jake Norton

Youth D:
1 Elliott Waters (Mercia HBM CC)
2 Warren Eve
3 Oliver Sawyer

Abigail Armstrong (VC Lincoln)

Youth E:
1 Alex Galpin (Bourne Wheelers)
2 Jake Kennedy
3 Dan Galpin

Jemima Gurney (Spalding CC)

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.