Road: Williams wins CDNW League Round Two

Road: Williams wins CDNW League Round Two


Location: Saighton, Cheshire
Event: 11 March 2012
Report: Snowdon Sports

PETE Williams (Node 4-Giordana Racing) made it two wins in two days when he crossed the line alone at the end of the second round of the CDNW League at Saighton in Cheshire on Sunday.

Williams (pictured) was 15 seconds clear of his nearest rival at the end of the 62-mile race, a victory which came less than 24 hours after he had won the Circuit of Ingleborough time trial in North Yorkshire.

The 25-year-old from Skipton was part of a break which got clear of the field just before half distance, and after that group was whittled down gradually, Williams decided to go it alone on the final lap.

He attacked half way through the last of eight laps, but Vanilla Bikes rider Dillon Byrne went with him. So with around 6 kilometres left Williams attacked again, leaving his rival struggling to keep up and heading into the distance towards victory.

Byrne crossed the line around 30 seconds back, while his team-mate Samuel Jackson was third, another 24 seconds back.

And in the supporting 3/4 category race, Neil Robinson (Lune RCC) took the win from Velocity’s William Thomas, while Duncan McLaren (Stockport Clarion) was third.

What they said

“When I got away and Dillon Byrne came with me, I knew I was strong enough to ride away from him, and I didn’t fancy a sprint,” said Pete Williams. “If you’re on your own you know you’re going to win, but in a sprint there’s always a chance of something going wrong no matter how confident you are.

“I knew I was going OK before this weekend. I want to race at a higher level, and although I’m glad to be going well I figure I’ve got to be going well, and really I should be winning events like these if I want to progress.

“I didn’t start training too early this season, perhaps later than most people in the team. But I know I can get myself fit fairly quickly. Hopefully there’s more in the tank to come later in the season.

“I’m riding the CDNW again next weekend, and then after a bit of a break we’re into the Premier Calendar and other top races, so I’m looking forward to it.”



1 Pete Williams Node 4 Giordana Racing 2:15:30

2 Dillon Byrne @ 30sec

3 Samuel Jackson Vanilla Bikes R.T. @ 54sec

4 Declan Byrne Cycle Premier

5 James Sampson Node 4 Giordana Racing

6 Jack Waller Team Wallis CHH

7 Grahame Sumner wheelbase

8 Graham Briggs Team Raleigh

9 Matt Cronshaw Node 4 Giordana Racing

10 Matthew Pilkington Team BGlobal

11 Andrew Hawdon Herbalife-Leisure Lakes

12 Ben Dean Team Bglobal

13 Steve Abbott Teamwallis CHH cycling team

14 Richard Handley Rapha

15 Sam Boast Team Hope Factory Racing

16 Alistair Rutherford

17 Ryan Mullen Planet X

18 Robert Smail Team Wallis CHH

19 Daniel Drake Lancashire RC

20 Hamish Graham ASFRA Racing Team

21 Chris Sherriffs Team Bglobal

22 Tom Black Cycle Premier Racing Team

23 Matt Limacher Maxgear Champion System

24 John Crellin team wallis-chh

25 Jacob Tipper Team Wallis_CHH

26 Jack Pullar

27 Richard Hepworth Cycle Premier

28 Francis Pilkington Bill Nickson Cycles

29 Calum Nicholson Teamwallis CHH Racing Team

30 Alastair Hepworth Batley CC/Hargreaves Cycles

31 Luke Ryan Team Toachim

32 Dan Whelan Onimpex Bioracer RT

33 Richard Bott Herbalife-Leisure Lakes

34 Daniel Warwick teamwallis CHH racing team

35 James Gullen Metaltek-Scott

36 Simon Wilson Metaltek-Scott

37 Martin Woffindin Cycle Sport Pendle

38 David Giles Matrix Fitness - Prendas

39 Jonathan Cregeen Biketreks RT

40 John Dodgin Biketreks Racing Team

41 Harry Grey

42 Jack Cutsforth Team Herbal Life-Leisure Lakes

43 Lewis Craven Wheelbase

44 Kit Gilham Herbalife-Leisure Lakes

45 David Lowe Newcastle 2001 RC

46 Muke Fugaccia Liverpool Century

47 Stuart Reed wheelbase

48 Tom Barras Metaltek-Scott

49 Lee Brotzman Wills Wheels

50 Russell Falder Cycle Premier Racing Team

51 James Dunlop Biketreks RT

52 Karl Freeman team wheel wheel guru

53 Andy Coupe Herbalife-Leisure Lakes

54 Michael Ashurst Maxgear

55 Michael Rawson Champion System/Maxgear/Kyklos

56 Jordan Matthews Hetton Hawks


1 Neil Robinson Lune RCC 1:59:05

2 William Thomas Velocity Race Team

3 Duncan Mclaren Stockport Clarion

4 Steve Clarke Wheelbase

5 Henry Hunter Team Wallis CHH

6 Chris Quin Macclesfield Wheelers

7 Matt Love Unaffiliated

8 Stephen Smith Vita Cycle Team

9 Jason Livesey Dirtwheels cycles

10 John Guy high on bikes rt

11 Michael Lund GB Fire Service

12 Joshua Ferguson Team wheelguru

13 David Kent St. Helens

14 Tom Dalton Bill nickson cycles

15 Simon Deeley High on Bikes

16 James Chamberlain Cyclesport International

17 Chris Anderson biketreks racing team

18 Dennis Lang clayton velo

19 Simon Wilkes liverpool century

20 Andy Leigh Velocity RT

21 Col Hodgson st helens crc

22 Joshua Townson Southport CC

23 Nicolas Bertrand Biketreks Racing Team

24 Mike Rothwell Manchester Wheelers

25 Paul Woodrow St helens crc

26 Rick Flynn GMP Racing

27 philip knupfer manchester wheelers

28 Spencer Coltman southport cc

29 Sam Bennett Dirt Wheels

30 Christian Ellis wheelguru

31 John Bamford Lancashire Road Club

32 Gary Hartles Warrington

33 Sandy Lockett Biketreks Race Team

34 Ryan Pike High on Bikes RT

35 Anthony Allan Macclesfield Wheelers

36 Peter Ware St Helens CRC

37 Kevin Ainsworth north lancs road club

38 Stephen Duffell southport cc

39 John Clegg ribble valley crc

40 Thomas Rowley Manchester Wheelers

41 Tony Weston Liverpool Century

42 Clive Davis Lune RCC

43 Tom Walsh Lancs RC

44 Andrew Mcleod Lancashire Road Club

45 Darren Reynolds Stockport Clarion

46 Chris Southworth Leigh Premier RC

47 Tony Coughlan Stockport Clarion

48 John Agnew LUNE RCC

49 Russell Brass clayton velo

50 James Warren Bill Nickson Cycles RT

51 Doug Arnold Liverpool Century RC

52 Andy Newby Weaver Valley CC

53 Andrew Wright private member

54 Andrew Adshead Manchester Wheelers

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.