Road: Simon Baxter wins in round two of Highfield Kitchens Spring Shield Series


Location: Middlesbrough Cycling Circuit, Middlesbrough
Event: 10 March 2012
Report: Snowdon Sports

Herbalife’s Simon Baxter prevailed over a competitive field in Middlesbrough to take victory in the second round of the Highfield Kitchens Spring Shield Race Series.

The race saw constant attacking and Mark Perry (Dirt Wheels) managed to get away and stay off the front for most of the race.

But as several chasing groups formed, a few of them bunched together and caught Perry. Simon Baxter then took his chance to attack and took the lead and opened up a gap at the front with only Alex Bottomley (Velo 29) able to stay with him. Perry had to take third place as consolation, which he clinched with a sprint finish.

The 3/4 race was aggressive from the start with attacks from a number of riders but none of the breaks stuck and the contest ended with a sprint finish resulting in three separate crashes in the final two laps.


Elite 1/2/3:
1 Simon Baxter (Herbalife-Leisure Lakes Bikes)
2 Alex Bottomley (Velo 29)
3 Mark Perry (Dirt Wheels)
4 Jack Rees (Velo 29)
5 Chris Mark (Velo 29)
6 James Anderson (Blackhawk Bikes)
7 Andrew Beatie (Velo 29)
8 William Haynes (Blackhawk Bikes)
9 Richard Meadows (Velo 29)
10 Martin Hopkinson (Fietsen Tempo)

1 Edward Watkiss (Fietsen Tempo)
2 Matt Rossiter (Durham University CC)
3 Will Stavely (Ferryhill Wheelers CC)
4 Paul Bennett (Team Hope Factory Racing)
5 Stuart Neilson (unattached)
6 Michael Sloans (Sunderland Clarion CC)
7 Philip Turton (Yorkshire RC)
8 Ben Hetherington (Ferryhill Wheelers CC)
9 Christian Fewtrell (
10 Paul Cottrell (Sunderland Clarion CC)

1 Craig Smith (Colomba CC)
2 Chris Constanti (Gosforth RC)
3 Brit Tate (Dirtwheels)
4 Chris Ranson (Infinity)
5 Adam Theaker (

Under 16 boys circuit race:
1 Joe Mann (Derwentside CC)
2 James Morgan (Hetton Hawks CC)
3 Nathan Veall (Clifton CC)

Under 14 boys circuit race:
1 Jake Dobson (Newcastle Phoenix CC)
2 Thomas Mein (MTS Cycle Sport)
3 Joe Howard

Under 14 girls circuit race:
1 Kirsty Boak (Tyneside Vagabonds CC)
2 Jessica Watts (Tyneside Vagabonds CC)
3 Megan Hopper (Cleveland Wheelers CC)

Under 12 boys circuit race:
1 Aaron Preston (Cleveland Wheelers CC)
2 Toby Tanfield (Cleveland Wheelers CC)
3 Joe Wilson

Under 12 girls circuit race:
1 Lucy Mitchell
2 Rachel James (Stockton Wheelers CC)

Under 10 boys circuit race:
1 Harry Morris (Hetton Hawks CC)

Under 10 girls circuit race:
1 Roisin Lally (One Life Racing)
2 Ava May Oxley-Szilaggi (Wakefield Triathlon Club)

Under 8 boys circuit race:
1 Daniel Holmes (Tyneside Vagabonds CC)
2 Patrick Killcullen (Stockton Wheelers CC)
3 Sam Holmes (Tyneside Vagabonds CC)

Under 8 girls circuit race:
1 Lititia Hay (Hetton Hawks CC)

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.