Road: Nick Baker win again at Redbridge


Location: Redbridge Circuit, London
Event: 18 February 2012
Report: Snowdon Sports

Nick Baker (Zappis CC) took victory in the final round of the East London Velo Series at the Redbridge circuit in London on Saturday – but the overall title went to the promoting club’s Roger Maidment.

The 38-year-old from Walthamstow has secured the overall title after securing points in every round that has been run, despite never actually winning a race.

Maidment has finished second twice and third once, and took the overall title by just three points from Baker, who has won each of the three races he has ridden.

Baker took victory in the E12 race at round six – the fifth race because of the cancellation of round five last weekend – while Norwood Paragon’s Chris Moores was second, just ahead of round four winner Scott Cousins (Maldon CC).

In the 3/4 cat race St Ives CC rider Luke Hattersley, 17 and from Cambridge, took victory ahead of VC 10 rival Joe Holloway, the 19-year-old from High Wycombe who has won the overall series by eight points from London Phoenix rival Neal Mackintosh, who was third on the day.


The Badger E12:
1 Nick Baker (Zappis CC)
2 Chris Moores (Norwood Paragon CC)
3 Scott Cousins (Maldon CC)
4 Roger Maidment (East London Velo)
5 Mike Augir (Strada Cycles)
6 Ben Moores (Norwood Paragon CC)
7 Josh Giannan (Strada Cycles)
8 Flavio Zappi (Zappis CC)
9 Matt Barlow (Essex Roads CC)
10 Richard Mason (London Dynamo)

The Jackal 3/4:
1 Luke Hattersley (St Ives CC)
2 Joe Holloway (VC10)
3 Neal Mackintosh (London Phoenix)
4 Robbie Hayton (Bigfoot CC)
5 James Fairbank (CC Hackney)
6 James Walter (High Wycombe CC)
7 Sebastian Dickson (Thanet Road Club)
8 Luke Walton (unattached)
9 Jack Finch (PM Racing)
10 Kevin Holloway (VC10)

Final Rankings:

The Badger E123:
1 Roger Maidment 33
2 Nick Baker 30
3 Scott Cousins 24
4 Richard Da Silva 15
5= Felix Barker 13
5= Adam French 13
7= Phil Hersey 10
7= James Jones 10
7= Flavio Zappi 10
10 Matt Barlow 8

The Jackal 3/4:
1 Joe Holloway 30
2 Neal Mackintosh 22
3 James Fairbank 21
4 Matt Barlow 19
5 Sebastian Dickson 15
6= Chris Stuart-Leach 14
6= Nick White 14
8= Jack Finch 11
8= Robbie Hayton 11
10 Paul O'Sullivan 10

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.