Road: Russell wins Ludgershall Series R2


Location: Ludgershall, Wiltshire
Event: 21 January 2012
Report: Snowdon Sports

After finishing third in the opening round, John Russell (Strada Cycles) stepped up to the top of the podium with victory in the E123 race at the Ludgerhall Winter Series in Wiltshire on Saturday.

Russell, a 41-year-old second category rider from Bristol, crossed the line around five seconds ahead of his breakaway rivals at the end of the near hour-long race, which was run off in windy but much warmer conditions than the previous week’s opening round.

A large field of 90 riders lined up for the increasingly popular series, with the majority riding the supporting 3/4 cat race.

The elite race saw a number of attempted breakaways come to nothing, but five riders finally broke clear at around one-third distance, and they were to stay away until the end of the race, which is run off over 45 minutes plus five laps.

They worked well together and were quickly out of sight of the bunch, which they eventually lapped.

Having punctured earlier and taken a lap out, disaster struck for Neil Rutter (Swindon Road Club) who suffered a second deflation but could not take a second lap out and dropped back from the leaders, leaving four up front while he was in no man’s land, but managed to hold off the bunch.

With two miles to go Russell attacked, obviously not content to wait for a sprint finish. He quickly got a gap on his rivals, and crossed the line five seconds clear of second-placed Ben Anstie (Adeo Cadence).

Elite category rider Jason Streather (VC St Raphael) took third, just holding off James Gray (Gillingham & Dist Wh), while Rutter came home fifth, around a minute ahead of the bunch who were led him by Anstie’s team-mate Simon Snowdon (Adeo Cadence).

In the supporting 3/4 category race, Nick Noble (unattached) took victory in a bunch sprint, while Shaun Green (Army CU) was second and one of four Army riders in the top seven.



1st John Russell Strada Cycles 57:42

2nd Ben Anstie Cadence Cannondale @ 5sec

3rd Jason Streather VC St Raphael / Waite Contracts / Hewitts Cycles @ 8sec

4th James Gray VC St Raphael / Waite Contracts / Hewitts Cycles

5th Neil Rutter Swindon RC

6th Simon Snowdon Cadence Cannondale

7th James Wilson

8th Thomas Marshall Cadence Cannondale

9th Mark Ottaway Wyndamilla / Maxifuel

10th James Cartridge Cadence Cannondale

11th Matthew Conner

12th Rowan Horner VC St Raphael / Waite Contracts / Hewitts Cycles

13th Simon Brooks VC St Raphael / Waite Contracts / Hewitts Cycles

14th Scott Leakey Cadence Cannondale

15th Jamie Streather VC St Raphael / Waite Contracts / Hewitts Cycles

16th David Barnaville Felt Colbournes RT

17th John Hyde VC St Raphael / Waite Contracts / Hewitts Cycles

18th Patrick Martin Wyndamilla / Maxifuel

19th Paul Derrick Strada Cycles

20th Stuart Thompson Andover Wheelers

21st David Young Fareham Wheelers Cycling Club

22nd David Hooper MJS Racing Team

23rd Ian Legg BC PM - South


1st Nick Noble Bristol Road Club

2nd Shaun Green Army Cycling Union

3rd Carsten Duke Army Cycling Union

4th Jordan Wade Poole Wheelers

5th Deacon Cutterham Army Cycling Union

6th Michael Greaves Gannett CC

7th Chris Mattocks Army Cycling Union

8th Jason Painton Rides On Air

9th Hugh Knusden Yeovil CC

10th Michael Holborow Swindon RC

11th Aaron Tayler Swindon RC

12th Kieran Blair VC Bristol

13th Will Hunt Army Cycling Union

14th Mark Field Addiscombe CC

15th Alain Ritchie Kyklos/Edco Race Team

16th Jan Labrooy Behind The Bikeshed

17th Adam Morris Army Cycling Union

18th Nigel Pratt Andover Wheelers

19th Mike Smith Gillingham and District Wheelers

20th David Billings

21st David Hooper MJS Racing Team

22nd Paul Jones Army Cycling Union

23rd Oscar Hutchings Exeter Uhniversity CC

24th Anthony Turner Oxonian CC

25th Paul Coles Chippenham Wheelers

26th Alan Starsmeare east grinstead cc

27th Chris Hutchings BC PM - South

28th Glenn Duffy VC Meudon

29th Paul Carson Cult Racing

30th Michael Widera Vivelo-bikes/Inverse cycaim RT

31st David Mixell Andover Wheelers

32nd Steve Cottington Cadence RT

33rd Tony Solon Cadence RT

34th Ben Gritton Offcamber

35th James Wilding

36th Jamie Shearer Andover Wheelers

37th Pete Phillips Bath CC

38th Lee King Beeline Cycles

39th Matthew Hargreaves Bath CC

40th Sam Harper BC PM - South

41st Tim Jay Somer Valley CC

42nd Felix Young Bath University

43rd Simon Parton Kingston Wheelers


1st 41 Adel Tyson-Bloor VC St Raphael / Waite Contracts / Hewitts Cycles

2nd 42 Hannah Drewett

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.