Road: Big Turnout For Lichfield Races

Road: Big Turnout For Lichfield Races


Location: Market Square, Lichfield, Staffordshire
Event: 28 August 2011

Riders from all over the country turned out for the Lichfield City Centre Races including riders from the Channel Island of Jersey.

Alex Welburn (CycleShack/Forme) celebrates winning the category 3 and 4 race

In the 20 minute under 8's event local riders emerged victorious with a win for Connor Smith for the boys and Erin Staite in the girls for Lichfield City Cycling Club, both riders claiming the title of Regional Champion in the process. The under 10s also raced for 20 minutes. In the boys' race, Lichfield riders dominated and took the first three positions. Lewis Askey was crowned Regional Champion with Will Staite and Daniel Barnes taking second and third respectively.

The next race of the day was an entry level race for over 16s. The Lichfield City Cycling Club dominated in the top three positions as Alex Large won the event, followed by Scott Barnes and Adrian Hatton.

In the under 12's race the riders completed 15 laps of the 1km circuit in this time. Local expectations were high and were not disappointed as Harry Yates from the Lichfield took the win and the regional title for the boys. In the girls' event Georgia Hilleard from Wolverhampton Wheelers took the win and title followed in second place by Amy Selibas of Lichfield.

In the women's race the leaders of the race completed an impressive 30 laps of the circuit in the 50 minute event. Jessie Walker from RST Racing team Trigon took the win ahead of Martine Verweij of Team Jewson and Alison Holmes of the Lichfield Club.

Joey Walker from RST Racing Team Trigon took first place in the under 14's race, ahead of Oliver Lowthorpe from Jersey. Third place Joshua Waters (Plan B Racing) however was the rider able to claim the Regional Champion jersey. Meanwhile in the girls' race Lucy Shaw (Solihull CC) took the win and regional title ahead of Paige Millward from Lyme RC and Sophie Capewell of Lichfield City CC.

As the afternoon continued a steady stream of riders were turning up for the category 3 and 4 race. This race was of 50 minutes duration and the riders completed 28 laps. The event was won by last year's under 16's winner in a fine display of fitness and bike handling skills, Alex Welburn (CycleShack/Forme) racing finished ahead of Ben Eedy (Team Empella) and Phil Wilkins (Team Jewson).

The final youth race of the day was for the under 16's and there were a number of riders capable of taking the title. A fast start to the race soon started to split the field with a group of eight soon moving clear of the other riders. Local favourite Jacob Kelly who won last year's under 14's event was among these riders and so expectation was growing amongst spectators. As the last lap started Kelly was sitting comfortably in 3rd spot ready to make his move when he was brought down in a crash on the last lap ending his chances.

An equally strong ride from his rivals did ensure that Adam Lewis from Wolverhampton took the win and title ahead of Joe Evans and Danny Fox. In the girls' race Annasley Park rode strongly to take the girls win ahead of Paige Coope (Sherwood Pines) and Charlotte Turner.

The final race of the day was a National B race. Lichfield riders were among the pre-race favourites with Will Penn of Mammoth Lifestyle, Matt Gee from Team Raleigh and James Newey of Maxgear RT . The hour long race was certainly fast paced and the top seven riders, all broke clear and lapped the rest of the field. On the last lap though it turned out to be a win for Mike Smith followed by Ian Knight to take the top two slots for Team Corley Cycles with Will Penn taking third.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.