Crit: Southend Win for Planting

Crit: Southend Win for Planting


Location: Southend, Essex
Event: 29 August 2011
Report: Snowdon Sports

Dulwich Paragon's Arjan Planting took victory in the elite race at the Southend Wheelers' August Bank Holiday Criteriums in Essex.

Planting edged out breakaway rival Richard Mason (London Dynamo) to win the Lesley Lodemore Trophy, which was awarded to the winner of the main race in a whole day of events for riders of all ages.

The first event of the morning was the Youth under 12 race which saw 15 riders compete over the 1.15km lower circuit.

A small group of riders broke away early on resulting in win for Charles Poop (HSS) followed closely by Ben Tulett (Herne Hill YCC) with third place going to Pougal Toms (Norwich CC). First lady home was Kiera Tippett (Essex Roads CC).

The second event combining the under 14 and under 16 riders used the full 2km circuit. The 30 minute race saw lots of active racing in the two age groups resulting in a win for Joe Fry (Welwyn Wheelers) in the under 14 event followed by Dan Tolett (Hargroves Cycles) and in third place Louis Modell (ELV). First lady Annamarie Hughes (HSS).

The under 16 event was won by Cameron Toms (Iceni Velo); Second place Jack Jeffrey (LVYCC); Third James Gander (Southend Wheelers) and first lady Bethany Hayward (Welwyn Wheelers). Southend Wheelers rider Hannah Kane competing in the under 14 event finishing just behind the main bunch.

The third event of the day for third and fourth category riders, saw 43 riders compete over the 31 mile (50km) race.

From the out-set the racing was intense with a group of riders breaking away on main hill on the circuit.

The winners ultimately coming from this group with Harold Evans (Progressive Cycle Coaching) taking first place from Kieran Laurie (VC Londres) in the sprint with third placed rider Colin Bailey (North Road CC) riding clear of the group.

The elite race saw 37 of the region's best riders compete over 41 miles, with the first under-23 rider winning the Aspirants Trophy, while the Lesley Lodemore Trophy went to the winner of the event.

Like the previous 3/4 category event, racing was intense from the outset, resulting in around 15 riders breaking clear of the main field and staying away to the end of the event. With three primes on offer the racing was competitive throughout.

With five laps to go, three riders moved clear of the break with the chasing riders fragmenting in the chase. With two laps to go two riders were still clear of the break and catching the main field, whilst the chasing bunch from the original break becoming very tactical carefully watching each other.

The two riders stayed away with Arjan Planting (Dulwich Paragon) beating Richard Mason (London Dynamo) to the line. Third place went to Mike Smith (Team Corley Cycles) who also won two of the primes on offer during the event whilst Liam Stokes collected the other.

The Aspirant Trophy went to Clem Berrill (CC Hackney).

Race winner Arjan Planting (Dulwich Paragon) and Aspirants Trophy winner Clem Berrill (CC Hackney).


1 Arjan Planting (Dulwich Paragon)
2 Richard Mason (London Dynamo)
3 Mike Smith (Team Corley Cycles)
4 Russell Hampton (Sigma Sport-Specialized)
5 Clem Berrill (CC Hackney)
6 Germain Burton (Team Der Ver)
7 Owen Lake (Cambridge CC)
8 Dean Shannon (Twenty 3C-Orbea)
9 Liam Stones (45 Road Club)
10 Jacob Jipper (Team Valli)
Primes: Liam Stones; Mike Smith (x2).

3/4 Cat:
1 Harold Evans (Progressive Cycle Coaching)
2 Kieran Laurie (VC Londres)
3 Colin Bailey (North Road CC)

Under 16:

1 Cameron Toms (Iceni Velo)
2 Jack Jeffrey (LVYCC)
3 James Gander (Southend Wheelers)
Girls: Bethany Hayward (Welwyn Wheelers).

Under 14:
1 Joe Fry (Welwyn Wheelers)
2 Dan Tolett (Hargroves Cycles)
3 Louis Modell (East London Velo)
Girls: Annamarie Highes (HSS)
Under 12:
1 Charles Poop (HSS)
2 Ben Tulett (HHYCC)
3 Pougal Toms (Norwich CC)
Girls: Kiera Tippett (Essex Roads CC).

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.