Road: Birkenhead NE Circuit Series

Bookmark    and Share
Follow on

Follow       British Cycling on Facebook Follow British       Cycling on Twitter Visit our       images on Flickr Visit our       images on Flickr

Longmarker Jones Holds on for Victory

Park High School, Birkenhead, Wirral
Event: 17th July 2011
Report: Snowdon Sports

KEITH Jones (Deeside Olympic) took a deserved victory in the senior event at the Birkenhead North End Summer Circuit Races staged at Park High School in Birkenhead on Sunday.

Part of the longmarkers group in the handicapped race, Jones attacked after around five laps along with the promoting club's Mike Garner, and they stayed clear right to the end with Jones edging to victory in the two-up sprint.

They worked well together and saw the gap back to their starting group grow to around two and a half minutes, and it was not until lap 15 when the elite riders caught the 3/4 category men that their lead started to come down.

But by then it was too late, with Jones crossing the line ahead of the chasing pack, led in by Team UK Youth rider David MacGowan.

But less fortunate was Tony Parkinson, who spent the night in hospital with a bad cut to his leg after hitting two fallers ahead of him, but thankfully there were no broken bones.

The day of events - which was sponsored by BikeLine Solicitors, James James Kitchens and The Bike Factory in Chester - also included youth races, and Chester Road Club's promising youngster Ben Hastings won the Under-16 boys race, while Cycle Sport Pendle's Amy Gornall was top girl.

Seniors (40 miles):
1 Keith Jones (Deeside Olympic) 1-38-26
2 Mike Garner (Birkenhead North End CC) @ 10sec
3 David MacGowan (Team UK Youth) @ 16sec
4 Andy Tinsley (Maxgear RT)
5 Paul Bethell (Team Elite)
6 Jack Penrice (Science in
7 Chris Sherriffs (Team Bglobal)
8 Milan Sihelsky (Kuota)
9 Graeme Goulding (Kuota)
10 Nick Shaughnessey (Science in all @ same time

Second Cat: Paul Bethell. Third Cat: Keith Jones. Fourth Cat: Steve Molyneux. Veteran: Keith Jones. Junior: Jack Penrice.

Under-16 Boys:
1 Ben Hastings (Chester RC)
2 Josh Townson (Southport CC)
3 Clayton Howard (Southport CC)
Under-16 Girls: Jess Wilkinson (Birkenhead North End CC).

Under-14 Boys:
1 James Thompson (Liverpool Mercury)
2 Alex Harvey (Rhyl CC)
Under-14 Girls: Jess Wilkinson (Birkenhead North End CC).

Under-10 Boys:
1 Isaac Peterfield (Bolton Hotwheels)
2 Tyler Koch (Bolton Hotwheels)
3 Thomas Bates (Unattached)
4 Sam Jones (Birkenhead North End CC)