Road: Burke wins CDNW Lge Round 11

Bookmark    and Share
Follow on

Follow       British Cycling on Facebook Follow British       Cycling on Twitter Visit our       images on Flickr Visit our       images on Flickr

Burke Wins CDNW League Round 11

Cycling Development North West, Round 11
Pimbo, Lancashire, 90km
Event: 10th July 2011
Report: Snowdon Sports

TEAM UK Youth rider Steven Burke came out on top after a fast-paced and highly competitive race on the Pimbo circuit in Lancashire, round 11 of the CDNW Road Race League, on Sunday.

Burke won a bunch sprint for the line by inches after a hotly-contested E123 race which attracted a field of 54 and included several top riders from clubs such as Cycle Premier-Metaltek, Team UK Youth and Maxgear RT.

An early break of eight riders got around 30 seconds' lead on the bunch before the pace was driven up and they were quickly swallowed up after just six or the 27 laps away.

In fact no break got more than 20 seconds before they were also chased down, and the race was fated to end with a bunch gallop.

After biding his time for much of the race, Burke timed his blast to perfection, crossing the line a couple of lengths clear of rider Jamie Burgan, while Andrew Hawdon (Herbalife) took third.

The support race for 3/4 cat riders was also run off in similar style, with hardly any breaks forming and the victory going to VC Cumbria's Greg Tognarelli, who held of Edinburgh CC's Joe Larner.

Result (E/1/2/3):
1 Steven Burke (Team UK Youth) 2-04-35
2 Jamie Burgan (
3 Andrew Hawdon (Herbalife)
4 Tom Barras (Cycle Premier-Metaltek)
5 Richard Hepworth (Cycle Premier-Metaltek)
6 Chris Sherriffs (Team Bglobal)
7 Jack Penrice (
8 Jack Pullar (Vanilla Bikes)
9 Dillon Byrne (Herbalife)
10 Simon Wilson (Cycle Premier-Metaltek)

1 Greg Tognarelli (VC Cumbria) 1-48-00
2 Joe Larner (Edinburgh CC)
3 Andrew Brind-Surch (VC St Raphael)
4 Anthony Allan (Macclesfield Wheelers)
5 John Guy (R Whitfield)
6 Rick Flynn (GMP Racing)
7 Andy Holladay (Inverse Racing)
8 James Milligan (Cyclesport International)
9 James Chamberlain (Cyclesport International)
10 Wayne Greenhalgh (Maxgear RT) all @ same time