Road: Jackson Takes Win at Redbridge

Bookmark    and Share
Follow on

Follow       British Cycling on Facebook Follow British       Cycling on Twitter Visit our       images on Flickr Visit our       images on Flickr

Jackson Takes Win at Redbridge

Redbridge Circuit, London, Round Three
Promoted by: Redbridge CC
Event: 2nd July 2011
Report: Snowdon Sports

SURVIVING a crash in the leading group with just three laps remaining, James Jackson (RG Active Race Team) won the third round of the Redbridge Circuit Series, staged at the London venue on Saturday.

Jackson managed to avoid the pile-up which took out two of his breakaway rivals in the National B race, and took the win by inches from CC Hackney's Clem Berrill, while Roger Maidment (East London Velo) wasn't far behind in third.

The crash in the front group was just one of many in the race which left organisers busy with first aid and clearing the course.

The break went away on the second of around 25 laps of the circuit, and they worked well together to establish a lead of 45 seconds at one point.

Jackson was part of the initial break, but was clearly ambitious and tried to go ahead alone at one point, only to be pulled back by the break.

Some chasers edged off the front of the bunch and drove the pace up, and while they never made contact with the leaders it did bring their lead down to just a few seconds on the line.

Meanwhile, in the Regional B race at the same venue it was WyndyMilla-Maxifuel's Patrick Martin who took victory, soloing across the line to win by 15 seconds.

The race had largely stayed together until five laps to go, when he attacked alone to take the win, 15 seconds up on VC Elan's Craig Joy who led in the chasers.

National B:
1 James Jackson (RG Active Race Team) 1:06:58
2 Clem Berrill (CC Hackney)
3 Roger Maidment (East London Velo) all @ same time
4 Richard Da Silva (Stevenage CC) @ 5sec
5 Luke Ryam (Team Toachim) @ 10sec
6 David Murrell (London Phoenix)
7 Adam Brittain (High Wycombe CC)
8 David Webbord (London Dynamo)
9 Matthew Pilkington (Progressive Cycle Coaching)
10 Geoff Williams (Python RT)

Regional B:
1 Patrick Martin (WyndyMilla-Maxifuel) 1:06:38
2 Craig Joy (VC Elan) @ 15sec
3 Joshua Green (PCA Ciclos Uno)
4 Peter Hargreaves (VC Norwich)
5 Robert LeMaster (London Dynamo)
6 Simon Bateson (East London Velo)
7 Michael Rostoft (Chelmer CC)
8 Nick Gasson (34 Nomads)
9 Joe Clarke (Fenland Clarion)
10 Daniel Scott (PCH UK Racing Team)

Luke Hattersley (St Ives CC)
Under-14s: Joe Fry (Welwyn Wheelers)
Under-12s: Michael Parry (Welwyn Wheelers)
Under-10s: Aaron Freeman (Chelmer CC)
Under-8s: Matthew Farrow (Eagle RC)

Keira McVitty (Kings Cliffe Flyers)
Under-14s: Abbie Dentus (Palmer Park Velo)
Under-12s: Abigail Coles (North Road CC)
Under-10s: Grace Cadzow (Welwyn Wheelers)
Under-8s: Maya Teufel Tarlton (Lee Valley YCC)