Road: Bikeline Tom Simpson Memorial

Bookmark    and Share
Follow on

Follow       British Cycling on Facebook Follow British       Cycling on Twitter Visit our       images on Flickr Visit our       images on Flickr




Harrison Wins Bikeline Tom Simpson Memorial

Dinnington Road Club, 19 June 2011
Bircotes, Nottinghamshire
Report: Snowdon Sports

CONGLETON CC's Mike Harrison proved strongest in the sprint for the line at the end of the Bikeline Tom Simpson Memorial Road Race on the Harworth Circuit in North Nottinghamshire on Sunday.
The pace proved too much for many on the last of ten windswept laps of the challenging six-mile circuit, and the remaining riders were strung out over a large distance, making judging largely an easy task.
Six riders had formed an early break after three laps, and they worked well together to gain around a minute's lead. But by lap six the bunch began to reel them in, and the race came together a couple of laps later.
Another attack went soon after and while it didn't stick, it did up the pace considerably and caused the race to thin out.
The finish line was on the crest of a hill after a hard climb, and Harrison edged out rival John Brown (Activ Cycles RT) who was right on his wheel, while Team Elite's Paul Bathell took third, a couple of seconds further back.


Results (60 miles, 2/3/4):
1 Mike Harrison (Congleton CC) 2:17:00
2 John Brown (Activ Cycles RT) @ 2sec
3 Paul Bethell (Team Elite) @ 4sec
4 Andrew Beattie (Infinity Cycles)
5 Stuart Pryce (Nottingham Clarion)
6 Lee Tunnicliffe (Planet X)
7 Karl Denton (Yorkshire Velo)
8 Dave Furniss (Doncaster Wheelers)
9 Tony Grassby (Peak RC)
10 Mark Perry (Vicious Velo)