Wiggins Wins Dauphiné


Wiggins Wins Critérium du Dauphiné

Sunday 12 June 2011

Sky's Bradley Wiggins has won one of the most prestigious stage races in the calendar, the Critérium du Dauphiné, with a strong ride in the final mountainous seventh stage from Pontcharra to La Toussuire. Wiggins becomes the first British rider to win the race since Scot Robert Millar in 1990. Brian Robinson won the race in 1961.

Wiggins went into the final stage knowing that he had to keep in contact with Cadel Evans, Alexander Vinokourov and Jurgen Van Den Broeck. The final category one climb to the stage finish was always going to be crucial and Wiggins did what he had to do, keeping tabs on his rivals throughout and finishing in 10th place on the stage, which was won by Spaniard Joaquin Rodriguez Oliver. Wiggins finished 10 seconds down on the stage winner in the same group as Evans, with Van Den Broeck and Vinokourov finishing just ahead, gaining only three second each, giving the Sky rider the overall victory by 86 seconds. Evans was second overall.

Wiggins now heads into next month's Tour de France, looking like he might well be amongst the contenders, as he was in 2009. More on this victory, Wiggins' biggest on the road to date, and one of the biggest ever by a British road rider, on our sister website www.teamsky.com

Final General Classification

1 Bradley Wiggins (GBr) Sky Procycling 23:33:24
2 Cadel Evans (Aus) BMC Racing Team 0:01:26
3 Alexandre Vinokourov (Kaz) Pro Team Astana 0:01:52
4 Jurgen Van Den Broeck (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto 0:02:13
5 Joaquin Rodriguez Oliver (Spa) Katusha Team 0:02:52
6 Christophe Kern (Fra) Team Europcar 0:03:01
7 Jean-Christophe Peraud (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale 0:03:30
8 Kanstantsin Sivtsov (Blr) HTC-Highroad 0:04:14
9 Janez Brajkovic (Slo) Team RadioShack 0:04:22
10 Thomas Voeckler (Fra) Team Europcar 0:04:27