Mayman Wins at Darley Moor

Bookmark    and Share
Follow on

Follow       British Cycling on Facebook Follow British       Cycling on Twitter Visit our       images on Flickr Visit our       images on Flickr

Mayman Wins at Darley Moor

Darley Moor Series Round 5, 11 June 2011
Darley Moor, Derbyshire
Report: Snowdon Sports

CONAN Mayman (Raleigh-Avanti) won a bunch sprint finish to the fifth round of the Darley Moor Series at Ashbourne, Derbyshire, on Saturday.

The Ruthin rider proved too strong for his rivals and headed the gallop for the line, which he crossed just inches ahead of Mammoth RT rival Russel Falder, while the rest of the bunch were slightly off the pace at the end of the elite race.

The 22-lap race saw several attempted breakaways, and while the best of them stayed clear for around five laps nothing would stick as the relatively calm conditions made it easy for the bunch to hunt down the escapees.

Earlier in the day Nathan Harrison (Yorkshire Velo) had won the ¾ cat race which also covered 22 laps of the circuit, but unlike the finish to the elite race Harrison only really had to hold off one rival, and he did so with relative ease to pip CC Luton's Paul Stewart into second.

Around ten seconds further back, Aire Valley RT's Mike Curtis won the race for third at the front of the chasing group.

Earlier in the race four riders had broken clear, and they were joined with around five laps to go by eventual winner Harrison.

A puncture on a hairpin on the final lap caused the leading group to split with a second rider being brought down in the melee, and Harrison took his chance to sprint for glory.

Meanwhile, youngster Keiron Tennyson (unattached) finished fourth in the 3/4 race before going on to take second in the Under-16s race shortly after, which Jacob Kelly (Lichfield City RC) won.



1 Conan Mayman (Raleigh-Avanti) 1:08:00
2 Russell Falder (Mammoth RT)
3 Simon Wilson (Cycling Bargains)
4 Sam Lowe (Raleigh Avanti)
5 Paul Bethnall (Team Elite)
6 Harry Springall (Kingston Wheelers)
7 Richard Prince (Planet X)
8 David Nichol (Jan Eyck Sport)
9 Jamie Burgin (Boneshakers)
10 James Newey (Maxgear RT) all @ same time

1 Nathan Harrison (Yorkshire Velo) 1:17:00
2 Paul Stewart (CC Luton) @ same time
3 Mike Curtis (Aire Valley RT) @ 10sec
4 Keiron Tennyson (unattached)
5 Peter Collins (Mercia CC)
6 Chris Horsfield (Brooks Cycles)
7 Gareth Whittall (Clay Cross RT)
8 Jack Reed (Team Qoroz)
9 Peter Wakelin (VC Nottingham)
10 Simon Parkin (Heanor Clarion) all @ same time

Youth (Under-16s):
1 Jacob Kelly (Lichfield City RC)
2 Keiron Tennyson (unattached)
3 Peter Cocker (Witham Wheelers) all @ same time

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.