Road Worlds Team Announced


British Cycling has today announced the long-listed team of riders who will represent Great Britain at the forthcoming UCI Road Cycling World Championships taking place from the 19 - 25 September in Copenhagen.

Mark Cavendish, who brought his Tour de France stage win tally up to 20 this year as well as winning the Green Jersey overall, will be supported by seven British riders selected from the long-list who will be looking to replicate their recent victory at the Olympic Road Test Event. Bradley Wiggins has been named on the Time Trial long-list, along with 2010 Silver medallist David Millar and Alex Dowsett (pictured right) who won the Gold and Silver medals respectively in the 2010 Commonwealth Games Time Trial.

Defending World Time Trial Champion Emma Pooley has been selected for the Women's Time Trial event, whilst the women's road race will see a full quota of seven GB riders including current Olympic Champion Nicole Cooke.

Performance Director Dave Brailsford said: "This is the biggest team we've taken to a Road World Championships demonstrating the continuous progression of road racing in the UK. It's great to see the positive impact that Team Sky has had on young developing riders, with Geraint Thomas, Chris Froome, Pete Kennaugh and Alex Dowsett all being long-listed.

"We are heading to the Road Worlds with serious aspirations this year. The long-listed team will be narrowed down over the next week, and everyone on the team - both riders and support staff - is excited about the event."

Rider List

Elite Men's Road Race (Eight places)

Mark Cavendish
Steve Cummings
Alex Dowsett
Chris Froome
Jeremy Hunt
Pete Kennaugh
Dan Lloyd
David Millar
Ian Stannard
Ben Swift
Geraint Thomas
Bradley Wiggins

Elite Men's Time Trial (Two places)

Alex Dowsett
David Millar
Bradley Wiggins

Elite Women's Road Race (Seven places)

Lizzie Armitstead
Katie Colclough
Nicole Cooke
Catherine Hare
Nikki Harris
Sharon Laws
Lucy Martin
Emma Pooley
Emma Trott

Elite Women's Time Trial (Three places)

Sharon Laws
Emma Pooley
Julia Shaw

Junior Men's Road Race (Five places)

Owain Doull
Jon Dibben
Grant Ferguson
Matthew Holmes
Sam Lowe
Alistair Slater

Junior Men's Time Trial (Two places)

Owain Doull
Jon Dibben

Junior Women's Road Race (Four places)

Elinor Baker
Hannah Barnes
Lucy Garner
Amy Roberts

Junior Women's Time Trial (Two places)

Elinor Barker
Hannah Barnes

U23 Men's Road Race (5/6 places - to be confirmed after Nations Cup)

Mark Christian
Andy Fenn
Jonny McEvoy
Dan McLay
Mark McNally
Tom Moses
Luke Rowe
Erick Rowsell
Scott Thwaites
Simon Yates

U23 Men's Time Trial (Two places)

Mark Christian
Joe Kelly
Erick Rowsell