Cross: Donnelly takes first CXNE win of the year


Location: Chances Park, Carlisle
Event: 16 December 2012
Report: Snowdon Sports

Morgan Donnelly (Beacon Wheelers) showed great strength and consistency to take a hard earned win in round 12 of the CXNE Rat Race Series. It was his first of the series.

A small group of riders got away together from the starting line led by Malcolm Lewis of MTS.

But by the end of the first lap, Donnelly had overtaken him and Lewis was working hard to keep up with the Cumbrian.

The course was quite hilly and this suited Donnelly, who comes from a fell-running background.

Morgan kept the same pace, putting in similar times lap after lap. But the rest of the field tired and couldn’t keep up with him as he pulled away.

He left behind him a battle for second place with Colin Ash (Black Hawk) catching Lewis up. With just one corner left, Ash made his move and finished in second, a good two minutes behind Donnelly.


1 Morgan Donnelly (Beacon Wheelers) 52:49
2 Colin Ash (Black Hawk) 55:01
3 Malcolm Lewis (MTS) 55:07
4 Tony Glover (Derwentside) 56:39
5 Tony Fletcher (M Steeles Cycles) 56:58
6 Alan Nixon (Black Hawk) 58:32
7 Ian Gibson (M Steeles Cycles) 58:58
8 Neil Wesley (Van Dessel) 1:00:53
9 Trevor Schofield (Moonglu) @ 1lap
10 Tom Harcourt (Black Hawk) @ 1lap

1 James Edmond (Ferryhill Wheelers) 40:25
2 Keith Ashbridge (VC Cumbria) 41:12
3 Greg Tognarelli (VC Cumbria) 41:15
4 Sean Hoban (VC Cumbria) 42:50
5 Steve Wilson (MTS) 42:51
6 Mick Aspey (NPCC) 42:58
7 Andy Moss (Adept RT) 43:03
8 Rob Smith (Derwentside) 43:46
9 Elliot Davison (Hetton Hawkes) 44:06
10 Cliff Featherstone (MTS) 45:09

James Edmond

Keith Ashbridge


Nicola Davis (Beacon Wheelers)

Under 16:
1 Jake Dobson (Newcastle Phoenix) 27:48
2 Finn Robertson (Hetton Hawkes) 28:54
3 Joe Howard (Cleveland) 29:46

Under 14:
1 Nick Hamilton (Hetton Hawkes) 31:24
2 Connie Hurton (Beacon Wheelers) 31:44
3 Tyla Loftus (Beacon Wheelers) 34:02

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.