Cross: Drake bags fifth North West win


Location: Stadt Moers Country Park, Whiston
Event: 25 November 2012
Report: Snowdon Sports

Team Elite’s Giles Drake won yet another race in the North Western Cyclo-Cross League – his fifth of the series – on Sunday.

The race, held at Stadt Moers Country Park, was extremely wet after18 hours of solid rain which eased just a couple of hours before the races.

Drake got away at the start of the race with Pete Middleton (Zepnat) going with him. The 28-year-old Wirral rider attempted a few digs on a wide and usually fast course but Middleton managed to handle everything that was thrown at him.

As the pair got two thirds of the way through the race, Drake upped the tempo and managed to get away from Middleton, increasing his gap slightly with each passing lap.

It was a comfortable victory for Giles Drake in the end in a race which saw many take a tumble or suffer mechanical difficulties.

Giles said after the race: “It was absolutely soaking out there today. Last week was bad but this was much wetter. But because there was water the mud wasn’t quite as thick and bike changing wasn’t as important as it was last week.

“I put a few little digs in early on but then with about a third of the race left, I put the hammer down and eked out the win from there really. I’d guess I was about a minute in front by the end.

“It was very slippery early on but as the race wore on, the course dried out and there was a bit more grip. We got lucky with the weather, after all the rain we had it was dry for the race and it was good fun.

“It was a good, open course with wide tracks so there were no issues with back markers or anything like that.

“I want to try and get the league won so that I can go on and race in a few big events towards the end of the season but we’ll see, just play it by ear. I’ve picked up a bit of a cold so I’m hoping that doesn’t get anything worse.”



1 Giles Drake Team Elite S

2 Peter Middleton Zepnat V45

3 Simon Wilson Metaltek-Scott S

4 Paul Bethell Team Elite V40

5 Adrian Lawrence Team B Global V40

6 Scott Wilson Manchester Wheelers S

7 Alex McNicol Velo Club Moulin S

8 Peter Wilbraham Team Elite S

9 Jerrod Hartley Horwich CC V40

10 Cal Difalco Colnago / Microshift / Skins S

11 Mick Style Manchester Wheelers V45

12 Sean Beswick Zepnat V45

13 Matt Lawton Macclesfield Wheelers S

14 Bruce Dalton Kinesis WK U23

15 Oliver Payton Cycle Sport Pendle J

16 Steff Chandler Horwich CC V40

17 Martin Woffindin Cycle Sport Pendle U23

18 Mark Ferguson High Peak Cycles V50

19 Anthony Morris Evans Cycles S

20 Adam Newall Horwich CC S

21 Nick Shaughnessy UA V40

22 John Rigby Maxgear S

23 Dave Brailsford Horwich CC S

24 Chris Thomas Warrington RC S

25 Andrew Nixon Red Rose Olympic J

26 Andrew Brindle Horwich CC V40

27 Ian Rutherford Lune RCC S

28 Andrew Davies Horwich CC U23

29 Ian Ashworth Cycle Sport Pendle V40

30 Marcus Fielden Macclesfield Wheelers S

31 Joe Heywood Lancs RC V40

32 Alan Dorrington Planet X V40

33 Paul Davies High peak Cycles S

34 Steve Wood Oldham Ruffyeds V45

35 Pete Howarth Withington Wheelers V50

36 Matthew Bates UA S

37 Dave Headon Horwich CC V45

38 Stephen Cooke Harry Middleton Cycling Club S

39 Jacob Peatfield Cycle Sport Pendle J

40 Chris Belsham U/A S

41 Ian Kendall Liverpool Century V40

42 Kevin McCann Liverpool Century S

43 Thomas Frater S

44 Dave Thorp Manchester BMX V40

45 Pat Rowland UA V45

46 John Backhouse Cyclesport International S

47 Jason Ragg Manchester Wheelers S

48 Mike Wilcock Red Rose Olympic V40

49 Mark Rowson Macclesfield Wheelers V45

50 Kevan Underhill Weaver Valley CC V50

51 James Tudor S

52 Mark Jones S

53 Martin Rogers BNECC V50

54 Eddie Hibbert S

55 Chris Gambles Horwich CC S

56 Paul James S

57 Oliver Perez Red Rose Olympic S

58 Duncan Smith CRC S

59 Derek Schofield Rossendale Road Club V55

60 Adam Webster S

61 Becky Preece Red Rose Olympic WU23

62 Ray Pugh Liverpool Mercury ( Dolan) V55

63 Stewart Dwyer St Helens CRC V50

64 Craig Tabiner Port Sunlight Wheelers V40

65 Ian Clarke Birkenhead NE V45

66 Clive Wilkinson Birkenhead North End CC V45

67 Mark Barker Manchester Triathlon Club V45

68 Denis Mason Horwich CC S

69 Gus French Here Come the Belgians V50

70 Giles Perkins North Cheshire Clarion V45

71 Richie Watts Rossendale RC V45

72 Michael John Ogden Manchester Wheelers V50

73 Graham Kennerley Lancaster CC V55

74 Stan Boyd St Helens CRC S

75 Mike Cleary Manchester Wheelers V40

76 Mick Speirs Horwich CC V55

77 Paul Warrener Rossendale Rideon V45

78 Phil Braybrooke Manchester Wheelers V50

79 Steve Simpson U/A S

80 Jan Shearsmith Manchester Wheelers V50

81 Geraint Parry Liverpool Century RC S

82 Mike Plant North Cheshire Clarion S

83 Robert Longden North Cheshire Clarion V40

84 Dave Martin Red Rose Olympic V40

85 Mike Oshea Rossendale Road Club V50

86 David Hollingworth Red Rose Olympic V45

87 Alan Shuttleworth Altrincham RC V65

88 Bob Clarke Red Rose Olympic V40

89 Mark Lenderyou Manchester Wheelers V45

90 Eleanor Underhill Weaver Valley CC WV50

91 Brian Clayton UA V60

92 Rebecca Rimmington UA WS

93 John Hussey S

94 Matt Kinsey GKU V40

95 Eric Fitzhenrg U23

96 Geoff Robinson Glossop Velo V50

97 Mary White Horwich CC WV60

98 Paul O'Halloran ua V45

99 Dave Halman Altrincham RC V60

100 Jeremy Eastham Red Rose Olympic V45

101 Bob Duckworth Bury Clarion V65

Junior: Oliver Payton (Cycle Sport Pendle). Lady: Becky Preece (Red Rose Olympic CC). Under 23:
Bruce Dalton (The Kinesis Morvelo Project). Veteran 40: Peter Middleton.


1 Ewan Grivell-Mellor Mid Shropshire Whls U16B

2 Joseph Peatfield Bolton Hot Wheels CC U16B

3 Matthew Walls Velocity U16B

4 Tom Figgins Bolton Hot Wheels U16B

5 Thomas Clarke Red Rose Olympic U16B

6 Alistair Leivers BYCA U14B

7 Nathan Hawthorn Eastlands Velo U14B

8 Jessica Wilkinson Birkenhead North End CC U16G

9 Martha Gill Bolton Hot Wheels CC U16G

10 Bailey Payne Cycle Sport Pendle U16B

11 Cory Edmondson Cycle Sport Pendle U14B

12 Tyla Loftus Beacon Wheelers U14B

13 Devon Round MSW U14B

14 Kim Baptista Eastlands Velo U14G

15 Lewis Hartley Eastlands Velo U14B

16 Rosa Martin BYCA U16G

17 Sam Hollingworth Red Rose Olympic U14B

18 Georgia Savory Cycle Sport Pendle U14G

19 Brendan Thompson Liverpool Century R. C. U14B

20 Felix Benson Eason U14B


1 Matti Egglestone Beacon Wheelers U12B

2 Tyler Koch Bolton Hotwheels U12B

3 Nicole Clarke Port Sunlight Wheelers U12G

4 Robert Donaldson Mossley RC U12B

5 Ammel Talib North Cheshire Clarion U12B

6 Robbie Rowson Macclesfield Wheelers U12B

7 Oliver Walton Pedalsport CC U12B

8 Thomas Wood Oldham Ruffyeds U12B

9 Ben Wilcock Red Rose Olympic U12B

10 Jaish Talib North Cheshire Clarion

11 Alfie Payne Cycle Sport Pendle U12B

12 Shannon Hawthorn Cycle Sport Pendle U12G

13 Ben Wells U12B


1 Ben Peatfield Bolton Hotwheels U10B

2 Matthew Baptista Eastlands Velo U10B

3 Aiden Lawrence MK Cycles U10B

4 Joe Thorpe Manchester BMX U10B

5 Maani Talib North Cheshire Clarion U10B

6 Sam Kendall Liverpool Century R. C. U10B

7 Andrew Clarke Port Sunlight Wheelers U8B

8 Arees Talib North Cheshire Clarion U8B

9 Nick Bradshaw Ruffyeds U10B

10 Anna Harris Chester Tri Club U10G

11 James Donaldson Mossley CRT U8B

12 Spencer Unsworth BYCA U10B

13 Joe Rutterford Salt Aire U10B

14 Bryn Lawrence MK Cycles U8B

15 Evelyn Black Chester Go ride U10G

16 Seb Kinsey Glossop U8B

17 Jake Holland Red Rose Olympic U8B

18 Isobel Koch Bolton Hotwheels U8G

19 Charlotte Kendall Liverpool Century R. C. U8G

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.