Nichols wins BUCS Cyclo Cross Championships for Loughborough


BUCS Cyclo-Cross Championships
Event: 18 November 2012
Location: Durham University Cricket Club, Durham

The British University & College Sport (BUCS) cyclocross championships was held in Durham yesterday (Sunday 18 November) after CXNE Round 9.

It was the third time the event has been run in Durham, and 95 riders took to the start line from universities across the country. The course has built a reputation as being one of the premier cyclocross venues in the north of England, and was organised by members of Durham University Cycling Club with help from local clubs.

In the main event, defending champion Dave Nichols (Loughborough), Andrew Nichols (Sheffield) and Liam Glen (Bath) were at the head of the race from the off, but neither could break clear until the final lap when Dave Nichols attacked to take a fine solo victory from Glen (2nd) and A. Nichols (3rd). The female competition was also hotly contested with Morven Brown (Strathclyde) taking the honours from Ruby Miller (Cardiff) and Sarah Murray (Leeds).

In the all important team prize, Loughborough's strength in depth ensured they took male team Gold, closely followed by Edinburgh and Sheffield. In the female competition, Birmingham placed two riders in the top five to win ahead of Leeds and Durham.

Full Results (XLS)