Cross: Pugh solo ride wins round eight of Welsh League


Location: Gorseinon, Wales
Event: 18 November 2012
Report: Liz Slater

Cyclo-Cross returned to the Swansea area with a successful re-location of Welsh League Round 8 to a reclaimed tin-works site at Gorseinon.

A big thank you goes to Swansea Council and the newly formed Gower Riders for coming up with the venue at short notice after Margam Park became unavailable.

Conditions were testing with the sun thawing the overnight frost and a mid-morning shower did not help.

League leader Andrew Baum (Cwmcarn Paragon) took the early lead with Jonathan Pugh (Cycletec) in close attendance but it was Pugh who looked most at ease and he steadily pulled away from Baum, soloing to his third win of the season.

Speaking after his win, Jonathan said: “I was fourth going into the first corner and a group established itself.

“Then I got into second with Andrew Baum behind me and Lally dropped off on lap three leaving it down to just me and Baum.

“I felt good and on the last two laps I gained a few extra seconds so by the end I had quite a cushion. My bike couldn’t have done another lap though, it was clogged up with mud and I only had one bike. Any more and I think the wheels would have stopped turning!”

Cardiff JIF's Ian Jeremiah crossed the line in third place to win the Veteran race with the remaining top ten riders well strung out behind.

Juniors Sam Beckingsale (Abergavenny RC) and Manon Lloyd (Towy Riders) took victory in their respective races.


1 Jonathan Pugh (Cycletec) S
2 Andrew Baum (Cwmcarn Paragon) S
3 Ian Jeremiah (Cardiff JIF) V40
4 Joe Lally (CC Abergavenny) S
5 Andrew Parry (Urban Cyclery) S
6 David Thomas ( S
7 Graham Edwards (Abergavenny RC) V50
8 Lee Davies ( S
9 Bevan Humphreys (Urban Cyclery) S
10 Mark Spratt (Cardiff JIF) V40
Ian Jeremiah
Sam Beckingsale (ABergavenny RC)
Manon Lloyd (Towy Riders)
1 Alister Williams (Abergavenny RC) U16
2 Tomos Nesham (Newport Velo) U14
3 Teifion Best (Abergavenny RC) U16
4 Ioan Thomas (Towy Riders) U14
5 Hefin Evans (Towy Riders) U16
U16 Girl:
Tanwen Jones (Towy Riders)
U14 Boy:
Tomos Nesham
U14 Girl:
Elizabeth Bennett (Cardiff JIF)
U12 Boy:
Owain Roberts (Towy Riders)
U12 Girl:
Elynor Backstedt (Maindy Flyers)
U10 Boy:
Joshua Tarling (West Wales Cycle Racing)
U10 Girl:
Rosie Finucane (Towy Riders)
U8 Boy:
Garan Jones (Towy Riders)
U8 Girl:
Bethany Bennett (Towy Riders)

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.