Cross: Barratt and Payton on top at Misterton


Welland Valley Cycling promoted Round Six of the ultra popular West Midlands Cyclo-cross league sponsored by Waldrons Solicitors.

The league ventured out of the region into the East Midlands for the latest round at Misterton Hall near Lutterworth. The event proved a massive hit with over 400 competitors in various categories,

The autumn colours of the splendid surroundings of Misterton Hall provided a superb venue for cyclo-cross. Following on from the previous day's Rapha SuperCross the course was tweaked and extended to cope with the influx of riders.

The course proved to be technically challenging with the varied terrain of fast shale pathways, tarmac roadways, dry dusty woodlands and strength sapping meadowland.

When the racing commenced, Matt Barratt secured a fine victory in the Senior event, whilst veterans Darren Atkins and Phil Roach both warmed up for next weekend's National Trophy race at Ipswich with a victory in the their age groups.

Meanwhile, Hannah Payton won the Women's race showing great speed and agility around the testing circuit.

After the race, Dean Barnett, Organiser, said "Many thanks to Mrs Craven for the use of Misterton Hall, Waldrons Solicitors and members / friends of Welland Valley CC and WMCLL."


Senior, Vet 40+

Matt Barrett Sen 30+ Run/Ride Performance Team

Tom Payton Senior U23 Isla Bikes

Paul Cox Sen Pedal Power

Lee Westwood Sen

Gareth Wittall Sen

Dennis Lisbyad Sen

Philip Hinch Sen 30+ Brotherton Cycles

Neil Haywood Sen

Darren Atkins Vet 40+ Team Jewson/Thule/Kinesis/CNP/MI Racing

Stephen Knight Vet 45+ MI Racing Jewson/Thule/R

Gary Howard Vet 40+ None

Vet 50+ .Juniors, Women

Phillip Roach Vet 50+ 00:47:12 1

Luke Markham Junior 00:47:14 2

Mick Davies Vet 50+ 00:47:36 3

Peter Harris Vet 55+ 00:48:15 4

Gregory Dighton Junior 00:50:59 11

Jake Hubbard Junior 00:51:11 13

Hannah Payton Lady U23 00:54:24 27

Melissa Mathe Lady 00:48:04 41

Lydia Gurley Lady 00:48:22 45


Willam Gasgoine Yth U14 Matlock CC

Tim James Yth U14

Ollie Peckow Yth U14 Nottingham Clarion

Callum Mcbaerty Yth U14 Nottingham Clarion

Isabelle Boon Yth U14

Under 12’s

Harvey Rollason U12 Lichfield City CC 00:14:38

Jamieson Blain U12 Halesowen A&CC 00:14:39

Daniel Barnes U12 Lichfield City CC 00:14:59

Rachel Mayhew U12 Solihull CC 00:16:25

Under 10’s

Ben Askey U10 Lichfield City CC 00:16:00

Matt Garner U10 Welland Valley 00:16:52

Christian Stevens U10 Solihull CC 00:17:14

Erin Staite U10 G Lichfield City CC 00:19:05