Cross: Fawcett wins again in CXNE R5


Location: Gallagher Park, Bedlington
Event: 21 October 2012
Report: Snowdon Sports

Tony Fawcett (Scott UK) took his fourth win of the CXNE Rat Race Series at Gallagher Park, Bedlington on Saturday to give him a commanding lead at the top of the table.

The 34-year-old lead for almost the entire race and although he was pegged back for a while, he gradually increased his lead until it became unassailable.

The course, mapped out on top of an old coal heap, was very challenging technically with a lot of off-camber turns and a varying surface with mud, long and short grass and compact hardcore forming the different sections.

Matthew Kipling (Velo29) was second with a time of 1:00:07, four seconds ahead of Stuart Wearmouth (MTS) in third.

Thomas Mein (MTS) won the youth race, leading from Matthew Worton (Hetton Hawks) and Finn Robertson (Hetton Hawks).

Richard Noble (PWFRS) took his first win of the series in the veteran race, finishing 23 seconds ahead of his opponents. Steven Lee (Derwentside CC) came second and was the fastest junior. In the under 12 race, Matti Egglestone (Biggin Wheelers) prevailed.


1 Tony Fawcett (Scott UK) 58:32
2 Matthew Kipling (Velo29) 1:00:07
3 Stuart Wearmouth (MTS) 1:00:11
4 Colin Ash (Black Hawk Bikes) 1:00:17
5 Morgan Donnelly ((Beacon Wheelers) 1:00:33
6 Malcolm Lewis (MTS) 1:00:41
7 Darren Binks (Black Hawk Bikes) 1:01:39
8 Ian Lee (RAF CC) @ same time
9 Keith Murray (Scott UK) @ 1:01: 43
10 Tony Glover (Derwentside CC) 1:02:07
1Richard Noble (PWFRS) 39:03
2 Steven Lee (Derwentside CC) 39:23
3 James Anderson (Black Hawk Bikes) 39:24
4 Keith Ashbridge (VC Cumbria)
5 Ben Bardsley (Cycle Wise)
6 John Mein (Derwentside CC)
7 Greg Tognarelli (VC Cumbria)
8 Barry Kipling (MTS)
9 Mark Mather (Adept Precision RT)
10 Richard Atkinson (Ambleton RC)
1 Thomas Mein (MTS)
2 Matthew Worton (Hetton Hawks)
3 Finn Robertson (Hetton Hawks)
4 Joe Howard (Cleveland Wheelers CC)
5 Toby Tanfield (Cleveland Wheelers CC)
Youth girl:
1 Rhianna Stoves (Hetton Hawks)
Under 12:
1 Matti Egglestone (Biggin Wheelers)
2 Ben Dowson (Hetton Hawks)
3 Hamish Donnelly (Biggin Wheelers)

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.