Cross: King rules in Brecon Welsh League round


Location: Penlan Sports Fields, Brecon
Event: 7 October 2012
Report: Snowdon Sports

Second in the opening two rounds, 16-year-old junior Adam King (Cardiff JIF) stepped up to take the honours over his senior rivals in Sunday’s Welsh League event in Brecon.

Enjoying the sports field course and good conditions, the Whitchurch rider was at the head of affairs from the start and, after a steady couple of laps to open, went clear from the leading group to finish around a minute ahead of overall leader Andrew Baum (Cwmcarn Paragon RC) with visitor Matthew Webber (London Phoenix) dropping local lad Joe Lally (CC Abergavenny) midway through the race to finish third.

“It was quite a hard course with slippery corners, but I liked it – it was not too fast and not too muddy,” said King.

“I pushed on after a fairly easy couple of laps, made the gap and held it for a lap or two before it slowly grew.

“I’m pretty pleased with that, and I’m looking to keep doing as well as I can in the rest of the league races and see what I can do in the national events.”

Ross Porter (Cwmcarn Paragon RC) won a race-long battle with Mark James (Team Jewson-MI Racing) for the veteran honours, and Alexis Barnes (Cardiff Ajax) was a comfortable winner in the women's race.

Another race-long tussle saw Alister Williams (Abergavenny RC) come out on top in the youth race ahead of Joe Holt (Team Tredz).


1 Adam King (Cardiff JIF)
2 Andrew Baum (Cwmcarn Paragon)
3 Matthew Webber (London Phoenix)
4 Joe Lally (CC Abergavenny)
5 Ross Porter (Cwmcarn Paragon)
6 Mark James (Team Jewson-MI Racing)
7 William Worrall (TRCC)
7 Tim Davies (CC Abergavenny)
8 Andrew Parry (Urban Cyclery)
9 Grant Leavy (Cycle Coaching Wales)
10 Adrian Peall (Forza Cycles)
Veteran: Ross Porter
Junior: Adam King
Woman: Alexis Barnes (Cardiff Ajax)

1 Alister Williams (Abergavenny RC)
2 Joe Holt (Team Tredz)
3 Hefin Evans (Towy Riders)
4 Harry Lock (Cardiff Ajax)
5 Jacob Phelps (Maindy Flyers)

Under-14 boy: Ioan Thomas (Towy Riders)
Under-14 girl: Megan James (Abergavenny RC)
Under-12 boy: Owain Roberts (Towy Riders)
Under-12 girl: Ellie Shaw (Maindy Flyers)
Under-10 boy: Josh Tarling (West Wales Cycle Racing)
Under-10 girl: Rosie Finucane (Towy Riders)
Under-8 boy: Daniel Wylie-Morris (Abergavenny RC)
Under-8 girl: Awen Roberts (Towy Riders)

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.