Cross: VC Londres Madison Cross


Location: Herne Hill, London
Event: 1 January 2012
Report: Snowdon Sports

Mick Bell and Taylor Johnstone raced to victory in the annual New Year’s Day Madison cross event at Herne Hill in London on Sunday, crossing the line 22 seconds ahead of their nearest rivals in the VC Londres promotion.

The De Ver Cycles duo were just one of 53 pairs of senior riders, while the youth categories were also well attended at an event which has been getting more popular each year.

The Vicious Velo pairing of Kevin Knox and Andy Waterman held on to second spot by just five seconds from Keiran Laurie and Ashley Dennis of the promoting club VC Londres, while the pairs in fourth and fifth spot were only another two seconds behind in a thrilling close finish.


1 Mick Bell/Taylor Johnstone (De Ver Cycles) 50:25
2 Kevin Knox/Andy Waterman (Vicious Velo) @ 22sec
3 Kieran Laurie/Ashley Dennis (VC Londres) @ 27sec
4 Will Thompson/Phil Hersey (Eagle RC) @ 28sec
5 Jack Finch/Liam Cowell (PCA Ciclos Uno) @ 30sec
6 Jason Cattermole/Euan Cattermole (VC Londres) @ 2:11
7 Joe Fry/George Farrell (Welwyn Wheelers) @ 2:28
8 Tony Bartlett/Brian Curtis (Team Corridori) @ 4:03
9 Andrew Snowball/Iain Cook (VC Londres) @ 4:19
10 Leona Kadir/Gabor Doroghazi (Fruit 4 London) @ 1 lap
11 James Wood/James Flury (Team Darenth)
12 Kevin Ball/David Rees (Dulwich Paragon)
13 Sam Titmarsh/Dan Nash (Team Darenth)
14 Simon Scarsbrook/Ian Cleverley (Mosquito Bikes)
15 Thomas Finch/Noah Phillips (VC Londres)
16 Kim English/Kiera Mcvitty (Welwyn Wheelers)
17 Oliver Priddle/Jack Priddle (VC Jubilee)
18 Kevin Barker/Paul Sparks (PCA Ciclos Uno)
19 Sam Judd/David Smith (VC Londres)
20 Jo Mcrae/John Scripps (Look Mum No Hands)

1 Sam Titmarsh/Dan Nash (Team Darenth)
2 Thomas Finch/Noah Phillips (VC Londres)
3 Tim Leake/Harrison Coombes (Herne Hill YCC)

Under 14s:
1 Ant Anderson (Kingston Wheelers) 19:29
2 Luke Mitchie (Team Darenth) @ 16sec
3 Georg Jensen (LVYCC) @ 42sec
4 Charles Page (Hillingdon Slipstreamers) @ 48sec
5 Nathan Martin (Team Darenth) @ 2:41
6 Tom Hilless (Team Darenth) @ 5:30

Under 12s:
1 Arlo Ludewick (Herne Hill Youth CC) 10:54
2 James Finch (VC Deal) @ 14sec
3 Max Taylor (Herne Hill Youth CC) @ 43sec
4 Joe Blackmore (Herne Hill Youth CC) @ 1:18
5 Daniel Finch (VC Deal) @ 1:53
6 Freddie Taylor (Herne Hill Youth CC) @ 2:07

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team (officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people (many of them unpaid volunteers (who put in many hours of hard work running events (activities and clubs.