Cross: Fletcher takes third Notts & Derby League win


Location: Sherwood Pines Forest Park, Nottinghamshire
Event: 17 December 2011
Report: Snowdon Sports

David Fletcher (Boardman Elite) stormed to victory in Sherwood, completing six laps in 55 minutes and five seconds.

The prolific Edwinstowe rider took his third win in his third appearance of the season in the Notts and Derby League, beating Dan Booth (Cult Racing) into second place.

Booth was 1:19 behind Fletcher with Sigma Sports’ Tom Last taking the final place on the podium. Chris Metcalf (Charge Cycles) boosted his overall points tally with fourth whilst league leader, Andrew Naylor (Ashfield RC), finished down in 12th place.

The quickest over 45 veteran was Philip Roach (Rugby Velo) who finished in a very respectable ninth place overall and Mike Young (Pedalsport CC) was the fastest over 40 veteran.

Lawrence Frost topped the under 23s finishing eighth and Diane Lee of Zepnat RT finished first of the senior women.

In the youth section, under 16 rider Arthur Green (Matlock CC) took just 24 minutes and 59 seconds to complete the three laps and take victory and his under 14s team mate, William Gascoyne, made the most of Tom Weeds’ absence by finishing second and moving to within 25 points of the overall leader.

Another impressive ride from Sarah Lomas (Matlock CC) saw her top the under 16 girls, finishing in 12th place overall. Jessica Willett (Heanor Clarion) was the top under 14 girl and James Swadling (Nottingham Clarion) clocked up his ninth win of the season in the under 12s.

Poppy Wildman (Nottingham Clarion) continued her domination of the under 12s girls with another victory. Ben Chilton (Derby Mercury RC) took first place in the under 9s in an attempt to halt the championship march of Matthew Luscombe (Derby Mercury RC) but the leader finished in second place. Libby Smith of Matlock CC was the top under 9 girl.


1 David Fletcher (Boardman Elite) 55:05
2 Dan Booth (Cult Racing) @ 1:19
3 Tom Last (Sigma Sport) @ 1:40
4 Chris Metcalf (Charge Cycles) @ 2:50
5 Mark Cotton (Bycka Sport Racing) @ 3:19
6 Dieter Droger (Team Cystic Fibrosis) @ 3:42
7 Andrew Stuart (TFN Tri) @ 3:42
8 Gareth Whithall (Clay Cross RC) @ 4:11
9 Rob Parkin (Buzz Cycles) @ 4:31
10 Andrew Naylor (Ashfield RC) @ 4:45
Over-45s: Philip Roach (Rugby Velo). Over-40s: Mike Young (Pedalsport CC). Over-50s: Mick Perrin (Ashfield RC). Women: Diane Lee (Zepnat RT).

1 Arthur Green (Matlock CC) 24:59
2 William Gascoyne (Matlock CC) @ 18sec
3 Will Perrett (Heanor Clarion) @ 1:18
4 Ollie Peckover (Nottingham Clarion) @ 1:28
5 Callum McBrearty (Nottingham Clarion) @ 1:32

Under-14 girls: Jessica Willett (Heanor Clarion). Under-16 girls: Sarah Lomas (Matlock CC). Under-14s: William Gascoyne. Under-12s: James Swadling (Nottingham Clarion). Under-12s girls: Poppy Wildman (Nottingham Clarion). Under-9s: Ben Chilton (Derby Mercury RC). Under-9s girls: Libby Smith (Matlock CC).

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.