Cross: Drake wins North West League R9


│  │
Location: Otterspool Park, Aigburth, Liverpool
Event: 12 November 2011
Report: Snowdon Sports

Giles Drake underlined his current form with victory in the Geoff Bewley Memorial event in Otterspool Park, Aigburth, Liverpool, organised by Liverpool Century RC on Saturday.

The first of two wins over the weekend for the Wirral rider, 27-year-old Drake moved ever closer to league leader and team-mate Paul Bethell on the back of Saturday’s win.

He pipped St Helens-based Jonny McEvoy (Motorpoint) to the line at the end of the race, which was round nine of a league which has seen Drake on the podium six times following Saturday’s race.

Leading Under-23 rider and third overall was Martin Woffindin, the Cycle Sport Pendle rider from Burnley, while MTS Cyclesport’s Steven Ward was fourth.

In other categories, Red Rose Olympic’s Andrew Nixon was top junior, while best woman was junior Becky Preece of the same club.


1 Giles Drake (Team Elite)
2 Jonny McEvoy (Motorpoint Pro Cycling)
3 Martin Woffindin (Cycle Sport Pendle)
4 Steven Ward (MTS Cyclesport)
5 Tom Bell (unattached)
6 Paul Bethell (Team Elite)
7 Peter Middleton (Zepnat Racing Team)
8 Roy Davies (Team Elite)
9 Jerrod Hartley (Horwich CC)
10 Adrian Lawrence (Team Bglobal)
Under-23s: Martin Woffindin. Veterans: Peter Middleton. Juniors: Andrew Nixon (Red Rose Olympic). Women: Becky Preece (Red Rose Olympic).

1 Oliver Payton (Cycle Sport Pendle)
2 Robert Rogers (Birkenhead North End CC)
3 Robert Armstrong (Bill Nickson/Raleigh)
4 Adam Hartley (Eastlands Velo)
5 Jessica Wilkinson (Birkenhead North End CC)
6 Tom Figgins (Bolton Hot Wheels)
Girls: Jessica Wilkinson. Under-14s: Adam Hartley. Under-14 girls: Rosa Martin (BYCA).

1 Lewis Hartley (Eastlands Velo)
2 Nathan Hawthorn (Cycle Sport Pendle)
3 Sol Kerfoot-Robson (Rhos on Sea CC)
4 Craig Rogers (Birkenhead North End CC)
5 Alistair Leivers (BYCA)
6 Cory Edmondson (Cycle Sport Pendle)
Under-10s: Ava Oxley (Wakefield Tri Club). Under-8s: Greg Munikwa (unattached).

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.