Cross: Eastern Lge win for Tim Guy


Location: Furze Hill, Mistley, near Colchester, Essex
Event: 30 October 2011
Report: Snowdon Sports

After finishing third in two of the previous rounds, Tin Guy (Iceni Velo) gave his Eastern League ambitions a shot in the arm when he secured victory in the eighth round, staged by Colchester Rovers at Furze Hill at Mistley in Essex on Sunday.

The 32-year-old from Norwich crossed the line 15 seconds ahead of his nearest rival to move up to fifth in the overall league table, which is now taking shape with up to eight rounds to count and eight races having been staged.

PCA Ciclos Uno’s James Whatling had to settle for second spot once again after being pipped to victory on three previous occasions, while 49 seconds behind him was Diss & District’s Richard Dunnett, the 23-year-old Suffolk rider who was second in round seven last week.

The promoting club’s James Jobber was top junior rider and fourth overall, and was two and a half minutes quicker than the next best junior rider.

In the veterans race, Phil Buick secured a second category victory for Iceni Velo when he crossed the line more than a minute ahead of his nearest rival.

For the over-50 rider, it was his fourth victory in five rounds ridden, while reigning veteran league champion Tim Butler (Ipswich BC) was second and last week’s winner, Bruce Robinson (Shaftesbury CC) had to settle for third, 1:29 behind Buick.

Ciclos Uno’s Nikki Juniper won the women’s race comfortably, lapping all her rivals at least once and finishing 14th overall out of 71 riders in the veterans/women event.

In the youth race Tom Stead (Nice Tri St Neots) was securing his first win of the season, beating league leader James Madgwick (Lee Valley YCC) by 1:04, while his brother and team-mate Matthew Madgwick was third, another eight seconds adrift.


1 Tim Guy (Iceni Velo) 50:28
2 James Whatling (PCA Ciclos Uno) @ 15sec
3 Richard Dunnett (Diss & District CC) @ 1:04
4 James Jobber (Colchester Rivers) @ 2:13
5 Robert Hunt (API Metrow) @ 2:24
6 Martin Carter (unattached) @ 2:27
7 Ross Tricker (XRT Elmy Cycles) @ 2:36
8 Dave Copland (Ipswich BC) @ 3:03
9 Ben Paton (Amis Velo RT) @ 3:12
10 Anthony Birt (Ipswich BC) @ 3:15
Juniors: James Jobber. Elite Veterans: Martin Carter.

1 Phil Buick (Iceni Velo) 41:54
2 Tim Butler (Ipswich BC) @ 1:04
3 Bruce Robinson (Shaftesbury CC) @ 1:29
4 Mike Bowen (West Suffolk Wh) @ 1:57
5 Nicholas Webber (Colchester Rovers) @ 2:09
6 Colin Cracknell (Ipswich BC) @ 2:09
1 Nikki Juniper (Ciclos Uno) 46:08
2 Joolz Halpin (Maldon & Dist CC) @ 1 lap
3 Sue McIntyre (Walden Tri) @ 1 lap

1 Tom Stead (Nice Tri St Neots) 27:34
2 James Madgwick (Lee Valley YCC) @ 1:04
3 Matthew Madgwick (Lee Valley YCC) @ 1:12
4 Mitchell Powell (Chelmer CC) @ 1:13
5 Georg Jensen (Lee Valley YCC) @ 1:48
6 William Hughes (Ipswich BC) @ 1:49
Under-14s: Mitchell Powell. Girls: Keira Tippett (Essex Roads CC).

1 William Raymond (Welwyn Wheelers) 12:50
2 Pierce Bacon (Ipswich BC) @ 2sec
3 Aaron Freeman (Chelmer CC) @ 33sec
Under-10s: Aaron Freeman. Under-8s: Tom Davies (Welwyn Wheelers).

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.