Cross: Report & Images - Knog Muddy Hell


Bigger Crowds, Bigger Obstacles, More Mud, More beer! That was the mantra as warm weather drew huge crowds to South London's Herne Hill stadium for the third edition of the annual Knog Muddy Hell Cyclo-cross festival.

Course designer Phil Glowinski ensured that spectators had clear views of six major obstacles, the wall of death, mud pit, whoops, bridge, "big air" jump and bar tent hurdles, which led to cheering, goading and applause form the assembled masses.

320 competitors took part starting with the youth categories, even the under 12's got to tackle the huge bridge, with under 14 and under 16 riders racing the full course. As the younger riders were finishing their competition darkness set in, floodlights were turned on and the full field of 90 novice riders took to the course, most of whom in fancy dress. Racing was surpisingly fast with serious competition despite clothing choices with David Richardson taking the male top spot and Eloise Lindberg the female.

The next race saw the vets, women and juniors all racing together, once again the mighty Mick Bell took out the vets, with previous winner Claire Beaumont relegated to second in the women's race and Team Mule Bar Girl's Lousie Mahe taking the win. There was race long battle between three riders in the junior category but Josh Parkin took to the front in the closing stages to take the win from Jack Finch and Ashley Dennis.

The main race of the evening provided the biggest jumps, the highest wall rides and the loudest cheers. Top roadie Stephen Adams was being talked about as the dark horse and indeed finished third, last year's third placed rider Chris Metcalfe battled it out with Nick Craig foe the first half of the race, but it was masterclass of cross racing technique that saw Olympian Nick Craig pull away in the closing stages to take the popular win

There could only be one winner of the fancy dress competition: Mr Blobby entertained the crowds throughout the senior race, showing amazing skills on the wall ride, bunny hops and big air jumps, despite his size.

Knog provided a hugely generous prize list with goodies and cash for all categories that totalled over £2500!

Cross racing was not the only competition on offer as spectators (including elite roadie Yanto Barker) tried the new Rollapaluza off-road rig which features bumpy rollers and knobbly-tyred Surly single speed mountain bikes.

Knog Muddy Hell would like to thank all those involved in making the event possible, especially the small army of volunteers and officials. Knog Muddy Hell will return again in Autumn 2012.


Senior male
1 Nick Craig
2 Chris Metcalfe CHARGE BIKES
3 Stephen Adams Sigma Sport - Specialized
4 Andy Waterman ViCiOUS VELO
5 Sylvain Garde La Fuga Sigma Sport
6 Richard Mardle Felt Colbornes RT
7 James Furniss
8 Phil Glowinski VCL
9 Matt Spurgin Evans Cycles RT
10 Michael Smith Team Corley Cycles

1 Louise Mahe Mule Bar Girl
2 Claire Beaumont ViCiOUS Velo
3 Delia Beddis ViCiOUS Velo
4 Verity Appleyard Brotherton Cycles
5 leona kadir la fuga/sigma sport

1 Mick Bell London Fire Brigade
2 Greg SIMCOCK Team Corley Cycles
3 Gary Bryant
4 George Higgs Crawley Wheelers
5 russell Jones Brixton Cycles
6 Konrad Manning Rapha
7 Andrew Powers Rollapaluza CC
8 Simon Scarsbrook Mosquito Bikes Racing Team
9 Nick Noble Cadence Racing Team
10 adam platts dulwich paragon

1 David Richardson Biketart
2 Peter Mollison Kingston Wheelers
3 William Thompson GB Cycles
4 Krisztian Borbely Cyclelab
5 Hayden Wood Cambridge Fixed
6 Paul Warner Team Darenth
7 kevin ball DULWICH Paragon
8 Pete Link
9 Jonathan Dennis
10 Kieran Ellis TDO Bristol

First Female: Eloise Lindenberg, Southern Grease Monkey

2 Jack Finch VC Deal
3 Ashley Dennis VC Jubilee
4 Chris McGovern Sutton CC / De Ver Cycles
5 James Wood Team Darenth

1 Henry Dawson Male Hillingdon Slipstreamers
2 James Madgwick Male LVYCC
3 james flury Male Team Darenth
4 Jamil Gaida Male Rapha Condor CC
5 Aidan Woolven Male Sutton Cycling Club
6 George Jary Male VC Londres
7 Noah Phillips Male VC Londres
8 Hisham Al-Ramah Male VCL
9 Stanley Nutter Male HHYCC
10 tom rook Male woolwich cc
11 LAURA CHEESMAN Female ppycc

1 Thomas Finch Male VC Deal
2 Anthony Anderson Male Kingston Wheelers
3 Georg Jensen Male LVYCC
4 Callum Mackie Male LVYCC
5 william bardsley Male HHYCC
6 George Finch Male VC Deal
7 Fred Wright Male VCL
8 Freddie Argent Male HHYCC
9 Matthew McGovern Male Sutton CC / De Ver Cycles
10 James Ambrose-Parish Male LVYCC

First Girl: Georgie Hopkins

1 luke mitchie Male team darenth
2 nathan martin Male team darenth
3 Arlo Ludewick Male hhycc
4 Amelia Coombes Female hhycc
5 Felix Mackie Male LVYCC
6 Seth Ludewick Male hhycc
7 Josh Mead Male Sutton CC
8 Ivor Patterson Male VCL
9 Luke Ashwood Male Sutton CC
10 Oliver Dawson Male

 Full Results: